Pumpkin Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Our whole family loves this recipe...a winter and fall staple at our house. We always add a dash or two of cinnamon to give it a little more warmth and cut the acidity of the tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Wonderful soup recipe, I was looking for a pumpkin soup and this will be the one I used forever and ever. I liked this one because it used more pumpkin compared to similar recipes and included cumin, mmm. I made this to use up leftover chopped ham so I changed the beans to Northern, two cans for preference, and threw in at least a pound of ham. With the extra stuff I used a whole 48oz can of chicken broth, also for preference as we like brothy soups. My last change was to use a 14oz can of green chili tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, the added heat was perfect for us. I'm sure the next time I make this I'll change some more things around but the recipe itself is flawless, thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This was okay, definitely nothing to write home about. The Pumpkin Black Bean Soup recipe submitted on Allrecipes by ReedyGal was much better than this...this was rather bland & heavy, but giving it a 3 because it can be made low fat, as the heavy cream was optional. Sorry Julie... :-{
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Fantastic! Best soup I've made this fall so far, and I make one every Sunday night. I mostly kept to the recipe, but used frozen corn instead of canned and garnished with yougurt instead of cream. I was able to take a small portion and puree it a little bit more for my 10-month old and he loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
As written, it was very tasty but lacked depth. I ended up adding some chipotle peppers in adobo sauce to intensify the smokiness. Since I was roasting peppers for the main course, I actually roasted the red pepper and removed its skin before adding it to the soup. Also, a touch of cinnamon really rounded out the flavor profile. Another tip: throw in the entire cob of corn and let it sit as you simmer. The corn really sweetens things up. This was a thick, hearty, chili-like soup. Thank you, pumpkin gods!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
good with seasoned chicken breasts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
i made it for angel's baby shower. i thought it was pretty good. everyone else thought it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Merolla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
This is more of a stew, but quite delicious. I was curious what the pumpkin would do. It gave a slight squash flavor, but the tomato sauce was the major flavor in the sauce. My husband doesn't like soups or squash too much actually loved it. Tasty dish! I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristinH
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
VERY pumpkin-y, but VERY good! I've made this twice now, once per the recipe and once with half the pumpkin and the other half vegetable stock. Both were excellent, the first being more like a stew and the second more of a soup. We prefer the thinner soup-like version as it doesn't scream pumpkin at you, but as I said, both were delicious. This is now a staple on our Lenten table as even our 6 year old daughter loves it! Thank you for such a great way to use pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sabina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
So good. Instead of heavy cream I added sour cream & a sprinkle of cheese with cilantoro. It is amazing with or without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States