Pumpkin Bavarian Cream Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is delicious but I wouldn't recommend it for in inexperienced cook. It took a long time to put together and used much more equipment (bowls, mixers, spatulas, sauce pans, etc.) than a less complicated recipe might require. That aside, it's a mighty fine tart. Note: the recipe doesn't specify this, but I used a 9" tart pan with removable rim, about 1.5 inches high. Good thing I did too. A "normal" tart pan would have been too shallow given the quantity of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Wow! Really wonderful recipe! It's a perfect Bavarian cream, with a light, mousse-like texture (not like the gluey filling in "Bavarian cream" doughnuts). I didn't have any scotch, so I used the last of my brandy—about 1 Tbsp. I also beat the egg yolks and sugar with my Kitchenaid, rather than on the stove, and then mixed in the pumpkin mixture before transferring it to a pan. This would be a great recipe if you're asked to bring a dessert for Thanksgiving; it might be hard to make if you're the one hosting the meal, since it has to chill in the fridge, and refrigerator space is usually at a premium. I can't wait to try this pumpkin filling in something else, say, a pumpkin layer cake with a cranberry glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a tasty pie. Don't worry about getting the whipped cream completely worked in. Its nice to get a little bit of it in with the pie. Makes a ton of filling. I fill up a deep dish pie shell and still had about a cup of extra filling. I just put it in a bowl. Still yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used 2 eggs instead of 4 yolks. I thought it would firm up, but instead I needed to freeze it to get a decent slice. Next time, I will use 2 env. gelatin! Great taste, just a little disappointed with texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I doubled the recipe. It filled two deep dish pie shells and I had enough left over to fill a 1.5 qt casserole dish. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I added too much rum, otherwise, I think it would have been better. It was light, not sure if I would make again though-just didn't knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a show stopper at Thanksgiving. All the lovely pumpkin flavor with a nice, light texture. 2 notes: (1) I had a lot of leftover filling. I wish I had extra crust and could have made some small tarts or something. (2) Be careful not to overwhip the heavy cream. I did, it still tasted great, it was just hard to fold in the filling. I would recommend whipping to soft peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
not so impressed. mine turned out to be a pudding on top of crumb crust. I am glad I used a graham cracker crust as that was the sweetest thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I replaced the light cream and the milk with reduced-fat buttermilk. I am still amazed by how fast this was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Delicious! My first try was a little loose. Second time, I tempered the eggs into the pumpkin mixture, added the gelatin, and brought the whole thing back up to a low boil. This activated the gelatin and protein in the eggs giving a much more stable custard. And be sure to whip the cream to stiff peaks before folding in. I've also layered the pumpkin with Frangelico (or hazelnut favored) whipped cream in parfait glasses. Sprinkle with chopped toasted hazelnuts. A HUGE hit at brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States