Pumpkin Bavarian Cream Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! It is time consuming to make but the light, spicy and slightly sweet flavor fully makes up for it. I have one tip: The recipe calls for 1 cup of heavy cream, but I got a larger container so I could just whip a bunch of cream and have fresh whipped cream to top the pie with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Delicious! My first try was a little loose. Second time, I tempered the eggs into the pumpkin mixture, added the gelatin, and brought the whole thing back up to a low boil. This activated the gelatin and protein in the eggs giving a much more stable custard. And be sure to whip the cream to stiff peaks before folding in. I've also layered the pumpkin with Frangelico (or hazelnut favored) whipped cream in parfait glasses. Sprinkle with chopped toasted hazelnuts. A HUGE hit at brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This came out tasting good, but not as firm as I was expecting/hoping. It's still a bit on the flowing side when served. It took more like an hour and a half to begin to firm up in the fridge, not 20 minutes. I thought I had it hot enough to begin with, but I'm thinking it needed a bit more cooking time. Should it begin to thicken a bit on the stove? I'd think so ... and it really didn't. I may try it again, but I really haven't made up my mind yet. If I do, I think maybe I'll use at least one whole egg rather than all yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Just made this for the first time tonight for Thanksgiving tomorrow. Taste is fabulous, was easy to make as well. Just one note, this makes at least two normal sized pies. I made 12 mini tarts & had more than enough left over to make another pie. Note to self, next time make gingerbread the day before and use leftover filling to makes trifle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe to a T, opting to stick to the one packet of gelatin. It was certainly soft -- a bit custard-like -- but solidified enough that I was able to slice it up 16 ways handily. This is my first try at "Bavarian cream" so I'm not sure what I was aiming for, but I was nervous that another packet of gelatin would make it too Jello-jiggly. When I asked my husband whether I should pop it in the freezer he told me "no" ... both times I asked. He liked the texture. At any rate, the pie was a huge hit at the office Christmas party, even after an enormous buffet lunch, and the only thing eaten in its entirety! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
not so impressed. mine turned out to be a pudding on top of crumb crust. I am glad I used a graham cracker crust as that was the sweetest thing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a show stopper at Thanksgiving. All the lovely pumpkin flavor with a nice, light texture. 2 notes: (1) I had a lot of leftover filling. I wish I had extra crust and could have made some small tarts or something. (2) Be careful not to overwhip the heavy cream. I did, it still tasted great, it was just hard to fold in the filling. I would recommend whipping to soft peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This pie definitely took a lot longer to put together than expected! I had a problem getting it to set, so I added an extra gelatin...what a difference!!!! Turned out great after ALL that hard work. If you like creamy this is the pie for you! I personally thought the spice amounts were good, the whip cream balances it out. Very good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I replaced the light cream and the milk with reduced-fat buttermilk. I am still amazed by how fast this was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Sticking to this exact recipe left my tart a tad runny and way way too much filling left over, it felt wasteful. The spice is very spicy, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States