Pumpkin Bavarian Cream Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used 2 eggs instead of 4 yolks. I thought it would firm up, but instead I needed to freeze it to get a decent slice. Next time, I will use 2 env. gelatin! Great taste, just a little disappointed with texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a tasty pie. Don't worry about getting the whipped cream completely worked in. Its nice to get a little bit of it in with the pie. Makes a ton of filling. I fill up a deep dish pie shell and still had about a cup of extra filling. I just put it in a bowl. Still yummy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by FrancesC
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Wow! Really wonderful recipe! It's a perfect Bavarian cream, with a light, mousse-like texture (not like the gluey filling in "Bavarian cream" doughnuts). I didn't have any scotch, so I used the last of my brandy—about 1 Tbsp. I also beat the egg yolks and sugar with my Kitchenaid, rather than on the stove, and then mixed in the pumpkin mixture before transferring it to a pan. This would be a great recipe if you're asked to bring a dessert for Thanksgiving; it might be hard to make if you're the one hosting the meal, since it has to chill in the fridge, and refrigerator space is usually at a premium. I can't wait to try this pumpkin filling in something else, say, a pumpkin layer cake with a cranberry glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I added too much rum, otherwise, I think it would have been better. It was light, not sure if I would make again though-just didn't knock my socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is delicious but I wouldn't recommend it for in inexperienced cook. It took a long time to put together and used much more equipment (bowls, mixers, spatulas, sauce pans, etc.) than a less complicated recipe might require. That aside, it's a mighty fine tart. Note: the recipe doesn't specify this, but I used a 9" tart pan with removable rim, about 1.5 inches high. Good thing I did too. A "normal" tart pan would have been too shallow given the quantity of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I doubled the recipe. It filled two deep dish pie shells and I had enough left over to fill a 1.5 qt casserole dish. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Sticking to this exact recipe left my tart a tad runny and way way too much filling left over, it felt wasteful. The spice is very spicy, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I replaced the light cream and the milk with reduced-fat buttermilk. I am still amazed by how fast this was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DamnSwank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This pie definitely took a lot longer to put together than expected! I had a problem getting it to set, so I added an extra gelatin...what a difference!!!! Turned out great after ALL that hard work. If you like creamy this is the pie for you! I personally thought the spice amounts were good, the whip cream balances it out. Very good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a show stopper at Thanksgiving. All the lovely pumpkin flavor with a nice, light texture. 2 notes: (1) I had a lot of leftover filling. I wish I had extra crust and could have made some small tarts or something. (2) Be careful not to overwhip the heavy cream. I did, it still tasted great, it was just hard to fold in the filling. I would recommend whipping to soft peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States