Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I had always used my grandmother's recipe to make pumpkin bars with cream cheese frosting but when she passed, her recipe was lost with her. This recipe is the closest tasting thing I have had to the pumpkin bars we all loved. I have made them twice in a week and everywhere I take them I get nothing but compliments. The only thing that I changed about the recipe in cutting the powdered sugar in half. Also, I find keeping the cake chilled before serving really allows the flavors to pop. I will continue to make this recipe from here on out. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FarmDog
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe for the beginner, it's nearly no fail if correctly followed. Better than that it's delicious and pretty healthy as long as you don't get too carried away with the frosting. They are moist, cut well, and freeze or refrigerate beautifully. You won't make this recipe just once. Would make a great housewarming gift as they travel well too. The bar in the my photo has been frozen and thawed, note no separation in the icing. Love them with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Very moist & good. I would recommend the refrigeration suggestion. They really did taste better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katygurl2000
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Was awesome!! I made a few adjustments to it though like less confectioners sugar and half honey and half sugar in the recipe itself as my family is trying to keep as much sugar out of our diets as possible. It turned out great though and I'm sure it's going be gone very soon. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yoly
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
These bars are absolutely delicious!! I used only 3 eggs (that's all I had) and added 1 tsp of pumpkin spice and 1 cup chopped walnuts. On the frosting I cut back to 2 cups of powdered sugar. I will be making these again and again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is one of the best pumpkin recipes I have ever tried. My family won't normally eat pumpkin desserts, but they love this one. It was a big hit at work too. I made it exactly as listed, but found that I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe is fantastic. The bars are incredibly moist and the icing is delicious. I took them to work and everyone wants me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
These got raves. We increased the pumpkin to 22 oz. (29 oz & 15 oz used for two batches) for a heavier bar. We reduced the amount of powdered sugar by one cup in the icing too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcy McVicker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Made the Pumpkin Bars with Cream Cheese Icing and LOVED them. Most Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was my first time making pumpkin bars, and this recipe was a home run! Very moist & delicious! The cream cheese frosting - Yum!! Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States