Pumpkin Bars V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great! I substituted white chocolate chips and left out the nuts. Very dense, moist cake. Got rave reviews from coworkers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brismo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Easy to make and everyone raved about it. I don't care for cookies, bars or cakes myself so I have to depend on the ratings of others. Everyone I served it to says 5 STARS!!! I didn't change one thing as I find that very rude unless you've made it following the recipe and THEN found a need to change it. I thought the combo of chocolate chips with the pumpkin seemed off, but I was told it was a very nice surprise. Thanks for a great recipe!!! I'm making it again this weekend for tailgating on Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good, quick and easy! I agree with another reviewer; the chocolate chips and nuts are not optional. That's what does make them so good. That being said, I did cut back on them both, using only a cup of each (My husband isn't big on chocolate). I did use sucanat, because I do not use white sugar for health reasons. And the baking time was right on at 35 minutes. These were very moist! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
These were delicious and perfect for Canadian Thanksgiving! I've baked these three times. The first time I did not measure the pumpkin believing a large can must be 15oz and substituted spelt for 1/4 cup of the flour and they were very dense. The other times I followed the recipe exactly discovering I had added twice the pumpkin the first time and they were perfect! My guests raved and even took home a container after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
These were good!.. I liked the texture; they were not quite as firm as a bar and yet not as light as a cake... I had a 12 oz pkg.(1 1/2 cups) Ghirradeli semi-sweet chips and felt any more than that would have been too much! For our personal taste they were slightly under sweet; we love sweets and since the chips are semi-sweet and the recipe doesn't have a lot of sugar, I would possibly switch to milk chocolate chips (mini's)!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I doubled this recipe. I filled a large pampered chef large bar pan with batter(minus the nuts) and the rest in a small pampered chef bar pan (with pecans added to this pan). The large pan went to my fifth graders class. As I was walking out with it at the end of the day kids were begging me to have another! I was very unsure of taking them w/o frosting or even a dusting of powdered sugar, but they were a huge hit plain. I thought the smaller pan with nuts was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
awesome! the nuts and chocolate chips are NOT optional in this recipe. It is what makes it so good. Cream cheese frosting would have ruined them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I did not have any chocolate chips to add to this recipe, but even without them, the bars were great! Just used a simple vanilla glaze on them. More of a cake consistency - maybe next time I'll add a bit more spice, as I personally like a little more -- thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seneca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Very nice and moist, not as sweet as I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great snack cake! The only changes I made to this recipe was cutting back on the nuts by 1 cup. Otherwise I followed it to a t. No need for icing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States