Pumpkin Bars IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Because I added 1 c chocolate chips, I used 3/4 c softened butter, 1-1/2 c sugar, and 1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice (for the spices). It came out delicious! The texture is soft, but handle-able and nice. I'd love to use a cream cheese frosting, but half my family is anti-frosting anything. This is a definite keeper! (I think I could even reduce the sugar more. Next time I'll use 1-1/4 cup or even just 1 cup. The chocolate chips make it plenty sweet.) GLUTEN FREE version: I used 2/3 c (each) chickpea flour, fine corn flour, and tapioca flour. I also added 2 tsps Xantham gum. (Brown rice flour could be used for the fine corn.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good I think I will add a box of vanilla pudding (like I do for cake mixes a lot) just to add a tinge more moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
super easy and nice and light. 25 min was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I used several options suggested by reviewers on this recipe, and it turned out great, and much healthier. Sub: applesauce for oil, 1/4c splenda brown sugar blend + 1/4c white sugar vs 2c white sugar, used 1/2 wheat flour vs all white, and added 1/3c dried cranberries. very moist, not too sweet bar. Was a hit, and will be a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
very easy to make & i put the batter into 2 small square pyrex, this way you can share ! i also made a cream cheese frosting. This is a keeper recipe. My 3yr old daughter loves it & asked for it. to make it more nuturious add tofu pureed in with the pumpkin before adding the pumpkin (this gives the recipe protein ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Not sure why this ones ratings are so high. It is super greasy - maybe doing that applesauce trick might be a good idea. Also, I just can't have pumpkin bread without nuts (although I didnt have any on hand) so that will be a must if I ever make this again. But, I don't think I will. Good for what it was - a quick throw togehter with things I had on hand. Gave me my first taste of pumpkin for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Loved it! Made a few modifications: used fresh pumpkin, cut the sugar in half, and used whole wheat flour. Turned out more like cake than bars, but great flavor and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was the perfect consistency not to light and not too heavy. I used 2 cups of real pumpkin (not canned) and I think that next time I will put 3 cups in. The pumpkin flavor was not strong enough. It is best eaten the day after. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Very moist and flavorful. I substituted applesauce for the vegetable oil to lessen fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Good recipe. Easy to prepare. Moist. More of a cake than what you typically think of a bar. Next time I would use cool whip instead of serving with ice cream as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States