Pumpkin Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I first tried this one back in 2010 but was too rushed to review it. Since I had to come back and reprint it I am taking the time to give it the kudos it deserves. Every time I've made these bars all who try them ask for the recipe. I skip the glaze because maple syrup is too hard to come by here in Greece but no one seems to miss it, and I use extra virgin olive oil because that is readily available and inexpensive here. Personally the baking soda provides enough salt for my taste. When I do add the raisins I only use 1/2 cup of sugar, if I add nuts instead then I use the full cup. I also find that if you mix the pie spices with the moist rather than the dry ingredients the flavors pop more so one teaspoon does the trick. Tasty, easy to prepare and comparatively high on the "good for you" scale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Solvang, California, USA
Living In: Heraklion, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I use double the recipe, and use two sticks of butter, add two tablespoons of molasses , cloves, nutmeg, ginger, and cinnamon instead of oil and spice and it bakes wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Took the advice of the other reviewers and used a whole can (15oz) of pumpkin, cut the oil to 1/3 cup, used brown instead of white sugar, added 2tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp ginger, 1/2tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp nutmeg instead of pumpkin spice mix, added 1/4 cup pecans. Everything else stayed the same. Turned out moist and deliciously spicy. I'm not a huge sugar consumer, so next time I would cut down on the sugar a bit and not use the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
great tasting pumpkin bars...moist. I used 15 oz can of pumpkin and reduced oil by half as suggested in other reviews..I had trouble with icing...and blotted most of it off...then sprinkled some sifted conf sugar to cover my mistake! I will make another batch for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I used 2 cups of sweet potatoes in place of the 1 cup of pumpkin, and added extra flour to compensate. They are fantastic! I used organic sugar and whole wheat flour. I left out the raisins as my husband is not a fan. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Served these at a Tupperware party...none left. I read they were kinda thin so I made 1 and a half the recipe in a 9x13 pan with pecans instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I lightened this up with applesauce for half the oil and egg beaters. The consistency of the bar is spot on and very moist. I did not care for the raisins in it and when I make it again, I would not use them. By request I used a cream cheese frosting instead of the glaze. Tasty and will go well with the ham dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
These pumpkin bars are delicious and were a big hit at home and work. I used craisins instead of raisins. Yum! The only criticism of this recipe is the maple glaze. 1/2 cup of powered sugar and 1 Tbls of maple syrup made a gummy lump. I kept adding maple syrup alternating with small amounts of water to thin it out enough to frost. Bars were great - glaze not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We even accidentally mixed the glaze into the batter and it still turned out terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Hann

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great recipe! I enjoyed eating this one. And my friends loved it too. The only thing i changed is that i used 2 cups of pumpkin puree instead of one and a pinch of salt. Excellent! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tsuki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States