Pumpkin Bars III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Great recipe! Thanks for the tip to prepare in a jelly-roll pan. I also decreased the eggs by 1/2 due to using homemade pumpkin puree, which is often very watery. Came out perfect with the lowest amount of cook time. Came together quickly and performed perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good! I used Organic Pumpkin Puree (from World Market) instead which is a little less thick than Libby's. This seems to have helped to make a little more "bar" like instead of cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Like others have stated, this is a cake not a bar. Made for a family get together and everyone said it was good but there were still leftovers. I thought it was a little bland and will follow the advice of others and add more spice like clove, nutmeg, or pumpkin pie spice. On the positive side it was a moist cake with good cream cheese icing that would balance out the extra spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
these are really good for potlucks. i use the jelly roll pan and cut the squares about 2x2 so its easy to grab more than one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Apricot20
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
As others have said, I expected bars but found it was a cake. That is no matter to me because it is the moistest cake I've ever had!! This is one of my favorite recipes ever. My husband, who doesn't like pumpkin pie, loves this cake more than any other cake. We prefer this recipe using only cinnamon instead of other recipes that add nutmeg and allspice. My husband took some to work and his co-workers fipped over it. One owns a bed and breakfast and wanted the recipe to start serving to his guests. I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. The cream cheese icing gives a nice tang. This summer, I served with fresh blueberries on top. You will not be disappointed! Now if I could only find a chocolate cake recipe as moist as this one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apricot20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Good. But will add more of the extra spices need time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These Bars were very very good! I used the advice of others and added lots of extra spices like pumpkin pie, cinnamon,etc. They were very moist and almost like a bread! I will definitely makes these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Great recipe! I get rave reviews on this every time I serve it! I use a jelly roll pan to bake this, so the pumpkin bars do turn out like bars and not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
We call this Pumpkin Bread and make it for breakfast. Pumpkin is loaded with Beta Caratene which converts to Vitamin A. So, it is great for the eyes. The kids love it. I altered the recipe to make it healthier-low cholesterol & low fat. I use 8 egg whites since I am allergic to egg yolks. I substitute apple sauce for the oil, use wheat flour instead of white flour, and use honey instead of white sugar. I add 1 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon ginger, & 1/4 teaspoon cloves. After it is in the pan I sprinkle generously with pumpkin pie spice on the top. I leave off the cream cheese icing because it is sweet enough without it. This makes a great fall breakfast dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrankiAndPaul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This is great! I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 cinnamon applesauce and I added some pumpkin pie spice too. I also used my favorite cream cheese frosting recipe for this instead. It was gone in 24 hours! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States