Pumpkin Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Delicious and so easy! I cut the recipe in half and made in an 8x8 pan and it worked well. Used store bought icing because I was lazy...would be even better with homemade. I plan to make again for sure! I did add a bit extra pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Loved it. Its the perfect sweetness. I used butter instead though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very, very good. I didn't change the recipe at all but I did double it. I still used the 9x13 pan. It turned out to be a delicious, moist cake. I frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site because it is less sweet than most frostings. My husband loves this recipe and asked for it again already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made these yesterday for my weekly church group. They were a big hit, and I will even say that I loved them, and I'm always my toughest critic. I switched the recipe up and bit - I used all-purpose flour, which worked just fine and I was generous with the spices as I always am when making gingerbread, sweet potato pie or anything similar. Plus, I used more like 1 cup of pumpkin because 2/3 cup just didn't seem like enough. Also, I opted to use butter instead of shortening because I thought that might make it a little more flavorful. Shortening would probably be fine, but the butter worked out great. I iced them with cream cheese frosting. Yum! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I baked this late last night since I forgot I was scheduled to bring morning treats for today's weekly meeting at work. I chose this recipe since I had all of the ingredients on hand it had received positive reviews. Well, here comes one more A+ review! The cake turned out great...moist, spicy and delicious. My co-workers couldn't stop raving about it! The only mods I made were to replace the bread flour with AP flour (worked like a charm) and add a bit more spice to it (without measuring): ginger, cloves, allspice, cinnamon and a hearty dash of vanilla. I frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting II from this website. A perfectly easy bar/cake to whip up on a whim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BacardiGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manly, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is DELICIOUS! Tastes like carrot cake (and dense too) w-out the carrots. I used all-purpose flour too since I did not have bread flour; worked fine! I also made home-made cream cheese: cream cheese, butter, vanilla, and powdered sugar. MMM...Good Recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bessiedarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Holy moly these are so good! I used margarine instead of shortening and just did 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the combination of spices. I lined my dish with foil and sprayed with cooking spray - makes it easy to just lift out of the pan to cool, frost and cut. I made a small batch of Cream Cheese Frosting II from this site for these. These came out pumpkiny, spicy, buttery, and moist! A cross between a bread and a cake. The only thing that is bad about this recipe is that it doesn't make enough! I would double the batter for the 9x13 to get a taller bar. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I'm not a huge fan of pumpkin, and this is definately pumpkin...but, it was good, and will serve the purpose for which I intended. Very simple to make, and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Daniel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2000
I creamed the shortening with the sugar, then added the eggs, pumpkin and spices, then added the rest of the dry ingredients. The children loved this, and so did my husband. Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2000
SO delicious! yum - the cream cheese frosting makes them. i received so many compliments on these...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States