Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Great muffins but I made some changes to make them healthier. Used 1/2 whole wheat flour, cut sugar in 1/2 (can't imagine using 2 cups!). Used fresh roasted pumpkin as it is the season. Also, used fresh made apple sauce instead of oil and omitted the streusel. Also made a 2nd batch with chopped walnuts. They were great! I'd suggest using a pie pumpkin instead of canned pumpkins. It is so simple to roast one and it tastes so much better. No need for all that oil either, apple sauce works great and sweetens it up allowing you to reduce the white sugar. I will try again with even less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
these turned out amazing!!!! I used homemade pumpkin pie filling I made with maple syrup and heavy whipping cream and I added a homemade caramel drizzle on top that i made using an evaporated milk recipe. The drizzle makes the muffin in this case!!!! i can't give this enough stars! I will be making these again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi St Clair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe! Made it exactly as stated. Wouldn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
V. good. The pumpkin flavor got overtaken with the apple streusel flavor. Perhaps more pumpkin spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made these this morning. They are almost gone. I used 1 1/2 Cup sugar and 2 tsp cinnamon. Next time I will make the crumb topping and add pumpkin seeds as posted in a picture, they looked so nice! I will definitely be making these again and share the recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFChik

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Super easy to make. Would absolutely lower the sugar amount and add toasted salted pecans to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These were very yummy, very moist. I didn't use the streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I liked it. I substituted the pumpkin spice for 2t of cinnamon, 1/2t of clove, 1/2 of nutmeg. I would do less clove and nutmeg next time but it brought a lot of flavor to the muffins. I also substituted the oil for apple sauce which mad them a little more dense. And I did half born sugar half white not sure if it made much of a difference taste wise. Oh and besides the streusel I added cream cheese frosting with pecans. yum. I would not do the streusel again either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Made these for a quick breakfast for our son. Easy to make and delicious. I did cut the sugar by half a cup and they were still sweet. Omitted the crumb topping also - but still great and kid approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bearhall04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 705) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States