Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
A little too sweet for a muffin IMO. Def worth trying though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is one of my favorite muffin recipes...and I make a lot of muffins! I reduced sugar to 1-1/2 cups (3/4 cup white sugar, 3/4 cup brown sugar) and omitted the topping. Next time I will reduce the sugar even more. I also reduced the amount of oil by using 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce, and then topped it off with oil to make 1/2 cup. For the flour, I used all whole wheat flour that has been run through the food processor for about 30-40 seconds to make it finer. I have also made it 1/2 all purpose and 1/2 whole wheat. I can't tell the difference, as long as the whole wheat flour is ground finer! Only had 1-1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice so I used the recommended spice substitution. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
These turned out burnt. I should have taken them out around 20-25 minutes, they didn't even make it to 35. Also, all I could taste was sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
YUM! I used unpacked brown sugar in place of the white sugar, added 1tsp baking powder, used apple sauce in place of oil, used 3 cups apple chunks, and skipped the streusel (I hate making streusel). Made 12 large muffins. Baked at 350 for 30 mins but next time I'd take them out at 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Wow, wow, Wow! Made these today for a middle school party. I used individual spices in lieu of pumpkin pie spice. I did not use muffin liners the first time, sprayed the cups instead & they did not come out of the cups well - so that was the family's batch. Second try I added a little more cinnamon & nutmeg (2:1- 2 tsp cinn, 1 tsp nutmeg) then added a pinch of salt to the topping mixture & used muffin liners. Each batch tasted like Autumn - so smart & out of this world! My teen said finding the apples inside was like finding little treasures. Brilliant recipe; thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I have made these muffins twice within the last week, and everyone who has tried them has been as pleased as I am! I appreciate how quick and easy they are to make, as well as how delicious they taste. Changes I made: 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of oil; 1 c brown sugar + 1/2 c white sugar instead of 2 c white sugar; no salt; no streusel topping. I used four medium Honeycrisp apples and ended up with 24 muffins. I plan on making these muffins over and over again. Thank you SO much, JES55!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I had a lot of apples that needed to be used, and was looking for a healthy muffin recipe. I doubled the recipe, and it made 18 large muffins, cooked at 325 for 50 min, as the size was significantly larger than the standard muffin tin. All I had on hand was a large can of pumpkin pie filling, as opposed to regular pumpkin puree, so I cut back on the sugar and pumpkin pie spice by about 25%. I also used NO oil, just an extra cup of the pumpkin pie filling (extra pumpkin puree would work fine too). This makes them slightly more dense instead of light and airy but still delicious and so much healthier. I did make the crumb topping as a treat, but they would have been tasty without it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I omitted the streusel topping and toppled the muffins with raw hulled pumpkin seeds. Great muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystajo
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was a great recipe - I followed the advice of others and made the following changes: Change - to 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup of white sugar (not 2 cups sugar) Change - 1/2 cup apple sauce (not 1/2 cup oil) Add - 1 tsp vanilla extract Add - 1/2 tsp almond extract I also did not make the topping and found them still sweet and delicious. Will definintely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States