Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
These muffins were GOOD! Only thing I would do differently is to make sure to chop apples smaller..they seemed to add too much moisture and so these muffins were ALMOST too moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
These were great muffins, although I made some changes to make them healthier. I cut the sugar by half and they were plenty sweet! Used half whole-wheat flour and added some wheat germ to lighten them. I also skipped the strussel because I knew we wouldn't eat most of them the same day. They were really yummy and relatively healthy after the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Excellent muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
A little too sweet for a muffin IMO. Def worth trying though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is one of my favorite muffin recipes...and I make a lot of muffins! I reduced sugar to 1-1/2 cups (3/4 cup white sugar, 3/4 cup brown sugar) and omitted the topping. Next time I will reduce the sugar even more. I also reduced the amount of oil by using 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce, and then topped it off with oil to make 1/2 cup. For the flour, I used all whole wheat flour that has been run through the food processor for about 30-40 seconds to make it finer. I have also made it 1/2 all purpose and 1/2 whole wheat. I can't tell the difference, as long as the whole wheat flour is ground finer! Only had 1-1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice so I used the recommended spice substitution. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
These turned out burnt. I should have taken them out around 20-25 minutes, they didn't even make it to 35. Also, all I could taste was sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
YUM! I used unpacked brown sugar in place of the white sugar, added 1tsp baking powder, used apple sauce in place of oil, used 3 cups apple chunks, and skipped the streusel (I hate making streusel). Made 12 large muffins. Baked at 350 for 30 mins but next time I'd take them out at 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Wow, wow, Wow! Made these today for a middle school party. I used individual spices in lieu of pumpkin pie spice. I did not use muffin liners the first time, sprayed the cups instead & they did not come out of the cups well - so that was the family's batch. Second try I added a little more cinnamon & nutmeg (2:1- 2 tsp cinn, 1 tsp nutmeg) then added a pinch of salt to the topping mixture & used muffin liners. Each batch tasted like Autumn - so smart & out of this world! My teen said finding the apples inside was like finding little treasures. Brilliant recipe; thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I have made these muffins twice within the last week, and everyone who has tried them has been as pleased as I am! I appreciate how quick and easy they are to make, as well as how delicious they taste. Changes I made: 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of oil; 1 c brown sugar + 1/2 c white sugar instead of 2 c white sugar; no salt; no streusel topping. I used four medium Honeycrisp apples and ended up with 24 muffins. I plan on making these muffins over and over again. Thank you SO much, JES55!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States