Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Wow! This was a really good muffin. I really like being able to see the chopped apples inside the muffin. Made as is with the exception of adding an extra 1/4 cup of sugar for the streusel topping. I'm really big on streusel topping and am so glad I added it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were good, but way too sweet. I think you could cut the sugar to 1 - 1 1/2 cups and still be plenty sweet, especially with the streusal topping. Will make again, but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These where really good but a little sweet. Next time I will use 1 cup brown sugar. I also sub the oil for apple sauce and mashed bananas for pumpkin. The batter was super thick and wasn't sure if it was my fault so I added 2 tbsp of milk just to calm my mind. The muffins came out super dense and gooey on the top; I cooked the for 35 mins do I know they were done. I'm not the best baker, do not sure if I made a mistake. I like the flavored so I will play with the recipe to better suit me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Pretty good. I did make some changes: instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 3/4 cup brown and 3/4 cup white; however I think it could be just a touch sweeter so next time I'll use 1 cup brown and 3/4 white. I added some extra ground cinnamon (about 1/2 tsp) after putting in the pumpkin spice. I only used one huge apple and chopped it up very finely. Used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce. I omitted the streusel topping altogether and just sprinkled some turbinado sugar on top before baking. These were VERY moist, great for grab-and-go breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious!! I did think two cups of sugar was a bit much so cut it by half... I also didn't use the oil and just added extra pumpkin. worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I used a cup of applesauce instead of fresh since that's all I had on hand. Muffins were super moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhoda M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved! I didnt have pumpkin pie spice so I just added Cinnamon and nutmeg. We added a small handful of chocolate chips too just for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made a lot of changes and didn't add the streusel topping- they are fantastic! I replaced half of the flour with whole wheat flour, half of the oil with applesauce, and half of the sugar with Splenda for baking. Splenda doesn't brown as much as sugar in baking, but the whole wheat flower kept up a golden brown appearance. I got 18 tasty, aromatic, lower fat and lower sugar muffins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Very good. I made these with a little apple sauce in the batter because my eggs were small, and it was a little stiff. They turned out delicious, and I will be making these again and again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMACLARE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cobbs Creek, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This recipe is perfect as is. I've made this as muffins and mini loaves. It's a moist sweet delicious bread! I used whole wheat flour and just threw in a whole can of pumpkin like many other users suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettjulie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States