Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Delicious! Very moist, tender and not too fatty muffins. Being on Weight Watchers, I am in a constant search of relatively low-fat recipes that would satisfy my cravings for baked goods. These muffins definitely hit the spot! I used the "Change Servings" function to make just six muffins, and it worked very well! I also used brown sugar instead of white, and decreased the amount of sugar in general. The muffins came out with just the right amount of sweetness, and the streusel was a great addition. Will definitely be making them again. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy Flower

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
These are great and my kids loved them- very moist! Only complaint is that they are too sweet (and I LOVE sweets!). Next time I'll cut 1/2 cup sugar. I substituted applesauce for the oil, added ground flax and raisins. I didn't do the streusel topping because I was lazy and just sprinkled with turbinado sugar. Will definitely make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Very good muffins except as usual with muffin recipes, I cut the sugar in half and it's still plenty sweet. Also, I wasn't quite sure how much "1 can of pumpkin puree" was because here in Canada, there are different sizes of canned pumpkin puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
made these used my mini loaf pan my husband and 88 year old dad loved them...nice and moist and flavourful . Thank you for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I doubled the recipe for a party and substituted apple sauce for the oil. I also adjusted the baking time to 25 minutes for my convection oven. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly as written and I have to say that these were good, but not amazing. I don't think there was enough "spice" in them... pumpkin anything needs a good dose of spices to really offset the flavor, and I don't think the 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice does that here. I am always hesitant to use pumpkin pie spice anyways, rather than mixing my own, and in this case I wish I'd used spices more akin to what you would use in pumpkin bread. I think cloves would add a wonderful touch to this recipe. Other than that, they baked up fine and the streudel was delicious. I didn't have a problem with sweetness like some others said, but I enjoy sweet things so that may be why. I thought they were just barely sweet enough. All in all, I would make again using the same base recipe but switching out the spices for pumpkin bread spicing instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Yummy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Good but not spectacular...I used a full can of pumpkin and applesauce in place of the oil. I'll try something different the next time I am looking to make pumpkin muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I completely agree with the comment about the streusel not being necessary, even a bit too much. I also prefer to replace half of the oil with an equal amount of apple sauce so as to make it a bit healthier. I've made these a few times now, and people keep begging me to make more...especially when autumn rolls around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Made this exactly as written and it was perfect! My 5 and 3 year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States