Pumpkin-Apple Muffins with Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Forget the streusel, these are so divine that you don't even need it! I made these tasty muffins with whole wheat flour only, cut the sugar in half, added 1 cup of milk, 1 cup of quick-oats, and a couple tablespoons of flax seed and they were still super yummy, sweet, and had a to-die-for aroma! 5 STARS! P.S... my additions made 12 overfilled muffins and the cook time was 20 minutes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InTheDesert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Yah, these were GREAT! The whole house smelled all warm and spicy like Thanksgiving!! I shredded the apple and used whole white flour-other than that, no changes or subs. Soooo flavorful and yummy! Were a hit with my husband who "hates" pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This recipe was absolutely delicious. However, we left out the oil completely and, not only did we have a version that was much lower in fat, it was also VERY moist. We absolutely loved it. No need to add the fat when the apple and pumpkin do the same job. Thanks for the delicious muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Absolutely delicious... better than the local bakery. Will make again and again. Stayed true to recipe but used whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This muffin recipie came in handy when i had left over pumkin from Thanksgiving's pumpkin roll. I was a lil nevous as to the thickness of the batter so i added a splash of milk to get the mixture moving. I added pecans to the topping and when done the topping was sweet and crunchy! A definate kid pleaser aswell.I loved the pumpki and apple together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Easy to make and very moist and tasty. If you like pumpkin, try these! I didn't read reviews ahead- yes the batter was thick (but not dry) and it took a little more mixing in of the dry ingredients but I didn't change a thing... and they baked up really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I loved these muffins, as did my whole family! My husband said these were the best muffins that I have ever made!! I did make a few small changes. I substituted fat free sour cream for the oil/butter. I used half brown sugar/half white sugar for the streusel and added some chopped walnuts. I also used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour in the batter. I also made 12 larger muffins instead of 18. When they are baking the house fills with a wonderful aroma! I will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This recipe is delicious. I added a little bit of molasses instead of the all spice and they just came out great. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
These were great! My kids (age 4 and 2) LOVED making and eating them. We did make a few substitutions... We used equal amounts of white and whole wheat flour. I also just started using splenda and thought I would try it out baking. I used 1 cup white splenda and 1/2 cup brown sugar splenda (equivalent of 1 cup regular). I also didn't have pumpkin pie spice so we used 2 tbl cinn, 1 teas ginger, 1/4 teas cloves. We only used 1/4 cup canola oil and added 1/4 milk. Also used more apples. We made the topping as directed. They cooked for about 25 minutes. My kids ate two of them as soon as I took them out of the freezer for cooling faster.. they couldn't wait to eat them! I was surprised they didn'ty even notice the sugar was gone. I will be making lots of these to freeze for quick breakfasts and snacks in the car. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These muffins are delicious! Extremely moist. I forgot about the streusel topping until I took them out of the oven, but they were still amazing. I made a few changes: I did not peel the apples because I like the bits of chewiness in the muffins. I only had half a cup of pumpkin, so I substituted with half a cup of applesauce. I also only used 1/4 cup oil and put in 1/4 cup of applesauce to make it a little healthier. I had the same problems others had with the batter being too dry to mix, so--you guessed it--I added another 1/4 cup or so of applesauce and the batter was perfect (so in all I used about a cup of applesauce). Next time I will use 1 cup of Splenda in place of the 2 cups of sugar so the muffins are not so high in empty calories because I made them 2 days ago and the 2 of us have already finished the 18 muffins I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States