Pumpkin-Apple Muffins with Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe for pumpkin muffins! I substituted applesauce for the oil in the muffins and for the butter in the streusel topping, I also added 3 T. of rolled oats to the topping. They turned out with a great texture - slightly crispy on the outside and very moist on the inside. I cooked them for exactly 30 minutes. The apples and pumpkin flavor really compliment each other. This is the third pumpkin muffin recipe on this site I have tried, and it was by far both the easiest to make and best tasting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This recipe was absolutely delicious. However, we left out the oil completely and, not only did we have a version that was much lower in fat, it was also VERY moist. We absolutely loved it. No need to add the fat when the apple and pumpkin do the same job. Thanks for the delicious muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These muffins were delicious and they made the house smell so good! I used whole wheat flour instead of regular flour and it tatstes great and it makes it a little healthier too. I also added walnuts to the topping mixture and eliminated the butter. The kids ate them warm right from the muffin tin-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is a very hardy muffin recipe. I changed a few things and left out the oil. Cut the sugar to 1 cup, used 1/2 cup pumpkin and 1/4 cup apple butter in place of oil, for the pumpkin pie spice I used cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg, and changed the flour to whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Oh My Goodness!!!! These taste just like Autumn! They are so YUMMY!!!! I made 24 mini muffins (took about 20 minutes) and I have 4 mini bread loaves in the oven still. The house smells wonderful! I stayed true to the recipe, only subbing 2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp ginger, and 1/4 tsp allspice- for the pumpkin pie spice. I also subbed brown sugar for white for the topping, like other reviewers did. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is one of my favorite tea bread recipes and I make alot of them! So yummy. I did add 3/4 cup orange flavored dried cranberry and it turned out fantastic. I also use brown sugar for the topping , I always do in any crumble topping I think the flavor and presentation is much nicer. I also added a couple Tablespoons of chopped pecans to the topping, a very nice touch. I have made this as mini loaves got 3 from the recipe. Gave them as a gift and got many compliments and was asked for the recipe. I will cut the sugar down to 1 and 1/2 cups next time as it is very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FemmeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
These muffins are delicious! Extremely moist. I forgot about the streusel topping until I took them out of the oven, but they were still amazing. I made a few changes: I did not peel the apples because I like the bits of chewiness in the muffins. I only had half a cup of pumpkin, so I substituted with half a cup of applesauce. I also only used 1/4 cup oil and put in 1/4 cup of applesauce to make it a little healthier. I had the same problems others had with the batter being too dry to mix, so--you guessed it--I added another 1/4 cup or so of applesauce and the batter was perfect (so in all I used about a cup of applesauce). Next time I will use 1 cup of Splenda in place of the 2 cups of sugar so the muffins are not so high in empty calories because I made them 2 days ago and the 2 of us have already finished the 18 muffins I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Absolutely delicious... better than the local bakery. Will make again and again. Stayed true to recipe but used whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Followed recipe exactly, but forgot the topping. Good. Nice and moise. Made again with the topping. Hubby says they are very good. I chopped the apples pretty fine and you don't even know they are in there. A good way to use up aging apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very moist and delicious muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States