Pumpkin-Apple Muffins with Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
The muffins are wonderful! I made some "healthy" changes to it so the muffins could be a snack for my 1 year old. I can only imagine how great the "unhealthy" version tastes! I added applesauce instead of oil, whole wheat flour instead of regular flour and left off the struesel topping. I wrapped each individually and stored in the freezer so I always have a snack on hand! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was pretty good! I can't say it was the best pumpkin muffin ever, but I'd make it again. I used an entire 15oz can of pumpkin (who uses one cup? Leaves an odd amount!), and added an extra apple to balance it. I did 1/2 white, 1/2 wheat flour. Followed others' advice and used applesauce instead of oil. It really needs more spices - I'd add more ground cloves and cinnamon in addition to the PP spice. It was a little bland. I'll try it again with the extra spices. Overall, decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Really liked the texture. The outside had a little crispness with the inside very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe, very tasty! I made a few changes to teh original recipe...I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour, 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar (I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups)and finally 1/3 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce. We did not use the topping but added chocolate chips to some and walnuts to others! They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
OK, so I did not follow exactly. I did what other reviewrs suggested and used applesauce instead of the oil and replaced half the sugar with splenda. IT NEEDS OIL. These tasted fine but were ruined without that slippery fat in there. They stuck right to the paper muffin cups. Just not very good. I'd try them again but there was just too much apple and too little pumpkin flavor going on here. I wanted more pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I just made these for my family the other day and we loved them. i followed the recipe excatly and they came out great. the only thing i didnt like was at first the tops were a little crunchy but after sitting for 2 days the were so moist. this is a muffin recipe i will be keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were a hit! Perfect for a frosty fall morning. I would make the salt total 1 tsp the next time. I also added some walnuts to half the batter. This yielded about 27 muffins, so there wasn't quite enough streusel. I'll use the excess batter to make some mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Western

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petersburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I doubled the streusel and added a little cloves and allspice to the batter. WOW! These are moist and extremely delicious! I will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dededo, Dededo, Guam
Living In: Helendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
These muffins are delicious! Moist and flavorful with just the right amount of crunch from the topping. I did substitute half of the sugar with brown sugar and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Got 15 muffins and a small loaf pan, not to mention a yummy-smelling house! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States