Pumpkin-Apple Muffins with Streusel Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Pretty good...I substitued sweet potato pie filling because I was out of pumpkin. I just cut the sugar in half to make up for the different ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These muffins are so moist. They are a fan favorite in my family. I now make them year round, not just during the Thanksgiving season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fallon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
eliminate apples and oil; use 2 cups pumpkin puree and 1/4 cup molasses; increase spice to 1 tablespoon; use brown sugar in topping, add nuts and oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I thought these were a great seasonal muffin. I reduced the sugar (I used dark brown in the batter) by half, which was perfect for my familys tastes, used melted butter in place of oil and I added about 1/3 cup of chopped pecans. When I make these again ill double the crumb topping and grate my apples instead of chopping them. I like apples, especially in baked goods, and I thought I chopped them on the small side but I would have liked them to be even smaller. I would also just use extra pumpkin, or apple sauce in place of the oil and be a little more generous with the butter in the crumb topping. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Not great. As written these muffins are way too sweet and not pumpkin-y enough. The baking time is too long. It's not a bad recipe in that it could be tweaked to yield something more satisfying, but as written, I can only give it three (maybe four) stars. Still on the hunt for that perfect soft, spicy, pumpkin-y muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELABIGAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowview, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These muffins were absolutely delicious and quite versatile. I made one batch following the recipe and they were terrific. The next batch I made, I wanted to cut back a little on the fat and calories so here is what I did.... I used half ap flour and half whole wheat flour, cut the sugar to one cup, and omitted the oil altogether. I then subbed brown sugar in the topping and I must tell you, they were the moistest and most delicious muffins I have made. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
To quote my friends "Starbucks worthy!".. I replaced the oil with extra pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cashews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
OH. MY. GOODNESS!!!! I'm in love. These are some of the best muffins I've ever made. Absolutely perfect for chilly fall mornings. I substituted applesauce for the oil as well, although I'm not quite sure how the applesauce was supposed to work as a substitute for the butter in the topping (I'm not the most savvy of bakers lol). When I mixed up the topping with the applesauce it (obviously) was very moist, so I sprinkled a flour/sugar mix on top of it and TA-DA! Passable streusel topping. The pumpkin flavor is VERY understated, I think this is largely due to the applesauce substitute, though. I may cut back on the chopped apples and add some walnuts next time, as well as reduce the amount of sugar--these are pretty sweet (again, the applesauce probably played a role here, even though I used unsweetened). SO: consider cutting back on the sugar and if using applesauce be prepared for more apple than pumpkin flavor. Throw on a pot of coffee and enjoy the smell of apple, pumpkin, and cinnamon wafting through your house for the rest of the day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
My much healthier version of this recipe is 5 stars delicious, so I'd bet that the original is 10 stars! I used all whole wheat flour, cut the sugar down to 1.25 cups, replaced half the oil with applesauce and replaced the eggs with flax egg (ground flax seed mixed with water). Mine were done in just under 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
These are soooo good. No complaints. Next time I might try replacing the oil with applesauce to add to the apple flavor of the muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States