Pumpkin and Sunflower Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The kids love it, but too sweet for me. Next time I'll add less honey, and a bit less water as it sank. Other than that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This bread was delicious! I am so happy to find a bread recipe that uses all whole wheat flour AND wheat bran, as well as seeds. I usually eat a store-bought seeded bread, but this tastes way better and is so much healthier. My only problem was that my loaf only rose halfway. I use yeast from a jar, and I read that the equivalency to a package is 2 1/4 tsp, but maybe I need to add a bit more. Either way, it is one of the best breads I've made and will be great in the fall with some beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this bread today and it was fantastic, I wouldn't change anything. I can't believe that someone would give this a 1 star just because of the title that is STUPID!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This bread was not a hit in our house. It turned out quite dry and dense and it didn't seem to have much flavour to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
For all who want to make this recipe and do not have a bread machine, make it anyway. You don't need special instructions or anything converted to make it by hand. This is a healthy bread, but I will make it more healthier by substituting the 1 pckge of commercial yeast to 1 cup of sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
My bread sank. And it tasted like it was lacking salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I modified this recipe and it turned out wonderfully. I used all purpose bleached flour (instead of whole wheat flour), spring cream honey (instead of regular honey) and used the Basic Bread Cycle. The bread turned out moist and beautiful. Will definitely make it with these modifications again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The bread came out very well. I've made it with all wheat flour and also with a mix of whole wheat and white bread flour. Both batches were very good, and the crunch of the seeds makes it extra special. For those complaining about the bread being too dense, I have two suggestions: 1. Use a mix of flours, and 2. Note that the recipe calls for INSTANT YEAST. If you are using regular active dry, you need to use just short of 3.5 teaspoons, and I suggest proofing it first. Instant to active dry is NOT a 1:1 conversion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Pumpkin Bread IV

This pumpkin bread is dense, moist, and flavorful.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States