Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I also substituted some things. I used crumbled italian sausage (out of the casing)(sweet, but I bet spicy would be great too). I used Frangelica liquor, I used half and half, and I spiced it up slightly with garlic powder. Oh, only used about 3 tbsp of brown sugar. Everyone loved the flavor, and because I used puree pumkin and crumbled sausage, I didn't have to do the very messy blending the soup. Served with hearty bread- Was a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
WOW! YUM! We loved it! I used Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausages, no butter, less brown sugar, added sage, spiced rum instead of praline liquor, and fat-free evaporated milk rather than cream. And, as others posted, it was SO good, perfect for this first cold and nasty day of fall! Definitely do puree it, but be careful, I blew the top off my blender because I put too much in at first. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I've been making this soup for years, wife and coworkers have loved it every time. Pureeing in the blender is key, food processor won't do the same job and is messier. I usually use two 15 oz. cans of pumpkin puree, about eight cups of chicken broth, and a whole cup of heavy cream (to avoid wasting partial packages of these ingredients). Also, since I could never find praline liqueur, I use 1/4 c. of Frangelico (hazelnut liqueur) plus a 1 oz. container of almond extract. I am trying to figure a way to keep the sausage chunks, but still puree the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Modifications: half and half instead of cream, fresh thyme instead of dried, drambuie instead of praline liqueur, more onion, and about half a tablespoon of salt. I adjusted the serving amount to 5 servings. That way you can use one can of pumpkin puree (plain). It makes a good amount for two people. Husband had multiple servings and we have leftovers. Will definitely make this again, maybe with even more sausage. Crack some pepper on top when you're about to dig in- tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I have made it so many times I have lost count. I usually use sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, omit the praline liqueur, use a bit less brown sugar (to taste), and rarely add the heavy cream (if I do add it I replace with fat free half and half). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
My husband doesn't normally go for spicy food, but I added a bit extra heavy cream for him and he loved it. This was fantastic and is sure to be seen many more times around our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara_Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I'm very disappointed. This was a pretty bland soup. Maybe I did something wrong. I used maple syrup as suggested by others because I didn't have praline liqueur. I used two cans of pumpkin puree and at first 1/2 pound of andouille sausage. Because it was so bland, I ended up adding the other 1/2 pound of sausage. This helped to make it a little spicier, but something is missing and I'm not sure what. Maybe I should add another can of pumpkin puree. I was hoping it would have more of a pumpkin flavor. Maybe by reading all the positive reviews I was expecting too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Wow! Gourmet! I used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, like it says you can, omitted the praline liqueur and the onions, and it was still delicious. Will definitely make again. I might try putting some diced sausage in after pureeing to add some chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was easy and delicious! It gave me a great base to create my own version of P/S soup. I used a combo of sweet and spicy italian sausage and I did not puree the sausage--didn't sound right to me--I pureed soup before adding browned sausage. I feel like I changed so much in terms of ingredients,so I am adding my own recipe for my version, but thanks for getting me started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Everyon LOVED it! I took other reviewer's suggestions and used less broth (I ended up using a little over 6 C) to thicken it a little bit and maple syrup in lieu of the liquer. I also substituted Jimmy Dean sage sausage 'cos a couple of my guests do not like spicy food so I decided not to risk the andouille. Still it was a very flavorful soup, but it is filling! I plan to serve this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving but will be only serving it in small increments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States