Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Awesome! I did change a few things too. I baked a whole sugar pumpkin and added it to the chicken stock, then substituted the andouille with italian sausage instead. Pureed the pumpkin and stock together then added the sausage, onion and cream warmed it up and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Multiplied the recipe for two nights' worth of dinner for my family of five, but my math was not precise to this recipe. Here's what I used: 5 of the Trader Joe's Chicken Andouille Sausages (1 package + 1), 2 medium/large onions, 3 15 oz cans pumpkin, and 3 32 oz cans stock. Also substituted granulated light brown sugar for the packed brown sugar and organic grade B maple syrup for the praline liqueur, and doubled those and everything else as called for. BE CAREFUL WITH THE BLENDER if you don't like searing hot pumpkin in your eyeballs. Very small amounts at a time. Learn from my mistake. Battle scars aside, my husband says this is the best soup he's ever had, and I'm pretty much in agreement. It is sort of an adult flavor, however. My littler kids are not so sure they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
this soup came out super tasty.. I modified and added skim milk and regular old maple syrup and it still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This soup is awesome. I couldn't find the sausage or the liqueor so I improvised. I used my local stores homemade Italian sausage and I used a syrup and added maple flavoring. I can't wait to serve for Thanksgiving. I will be making this often. I baked my own pumkin and sved the rest for a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was a lovely fall soup!!! Thank you Marbalet for sharing! As did other reviewers, I had to make a few changes due to necessity. I've never heard of andouile sausage so used sweet Italian. I used maple syrup instead of praline liqueur. I used a can of pumpkin, a package of frozen winter squash and an envelope of instant sweet potato mix and this came out fabulous. I made corn meal muffins with flaxseed to go with it and it was a filling, comfort-food kind of meal :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Made this for a Soup Luncheon at work. My "in my pantry" changes included using canned pumpkin puree, home grown medium heat sage seasoned sausage, chicken broth, and roasted pecan syrup. My husband and I tried some immediately after it was made and it was delicious. Nice and thick after a run through the blender. Glad we had dinner already or we would have eaten up my lunch plans. The soup is now in three quart jars in the fridge and I hope the taste holds out through reheating in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyCWV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
AWESOME soup! I used maple, instead of the praline. Everyone loved this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was awesome! Thanks for sharing this recipe. Just the right amount of heat, without being spicy. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I enjoyed this soup. It was perfect for having something a little different and the flavors blended nicely. I used 2 (15oz) cans of pumpkin puree, omitted the butter, and substituted the heavy cream with half and half. Next time I will cut the brown sugar to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Wow, I am eating this right now, and it is amazing!! This will definitely be added to my freezer recipes (see note below). I made a few substitutions because of what I had, and in an attempt to make it a little healthier. I didn't have the liquer, so I added real maple syrup. It was a little too sweet with this, so I increased the pumpkin. Next time I will probably just use a smaller amount of syrup. I used chicken andouille sausage for lower fat, and cut the cream a bit. It is such a delicious mixture of flavors. I always cook in large batches. So, like most everything I cook, I doubled the recipe, and put half in the freezer (leaving out the broth and cream). I made a note of what needs to be added, and on another day, I will pull it out, add the broth, blend it, and add the cream. Dinner will be ready with very minimal prep! Thank you for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States