Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is the most amazing soup I've ever made. Don't mess with it people! It is perfect as is! Only thing I had to change was that I couldn't find praline liqueur in the liquor store, but bought a very nice macadamia liqueur. Was worried about it being too sweet but the andouille added enough spice to balance the sweetness out. Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUKWONOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Elmo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Wife made this before Halloween and it was awesome. My foodie football buddies enjoyed it tremendously also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
One of my favorite recipes. Everybody I know loves it. However, I try not use pumpkin pack (which is I assume what pumpkin puree typically implies). Instead I start with a sugar pumpkin from which I remove the skin and interior seeds and other material. Next I cube it add some salt and a little olive oil and roast it at 400 for about 40 minutes, stirring half way through. Then I add the roast pumpkin in step 3 rather than in step 2. Last but not least if you can get fresh andouille, rather than the packaged version, all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I find myself craving this soup every couple of weeks through the fall and winter! I lighten it by using a lower fat chicken andouille sausage, using just the 2 tbs. of butter called for when cooking the sausage (not adding any more later), using about 1/4 cup brown sugar, and using fat free 1/2 and 1/2 in lieu of the cream. Also, I sub maple syrup for the liqueur. Even with these changes, it still tastes fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Wonderful soup! We used organic maple syrup instead of liquor and hot Italian sausage it was fantastic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I'm rating this 2 stars because made as it is posted it somehow turned out all wrong for me. More of a thin broth with no pumpkin flavour, texture or colour. I ended up adding a lot more pumpkin in. It was homegrown, roasted pumpkin, which I strained, pureed, then added, instead of letting it cook in the soup. This made it a very quick soup, as I did not have to simmer for 45 min. I doubled the thyme and added a bit of rosemary. Used 3/4 cup 1% instead of the cream, left out the butter, and added salt. I didn't have praline liquer so I added a touch of maple extract. Not a bad thing! Overall, I was a bit worried I hadn't done enough to "save" the soup, but everyone loved it! We really enjoyed the chunks of sausage. Definitely excited to eat the leftovers and will be making it again seasonally. If you fiddle with the levels, you can't go wrong with this recipe. Thanks MARBALET :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Even though its the middle of july I was craving both soup & pumpkin (pregnancy cravings really don't care what season it is!) and this sounded so delicious its all I thought about for three days before I finally broke down and made it. I did use hot italian sausage and fat free milk since that's what I had on hand and I left out the liqueur as well as the butter this calls for to cook with the sausage since sausage is fatty enough as it is, I didn't think it was neccessary. I had a bowl before I pureed this and it was good that way, but so much better after being pureed! it gave the whole soup a nice sausage-y flavor in every bite. Next time I make this (and there will be several 'next time's) I will use a full pound of sausage and add some garlic. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My family likes spicy foods and everyone thought this soup was awesome! Definitely had a kick with the andouille. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was unanimously agreed that this soup should become a new family tradition and will make an appearance every year at our Thanksgiving table. A caution, this is a pretty involved recipe -- I dirtied a lot of dishes and it took a long time to make. Not something I would be willing to make just any old night of the week, but for special occasions, the final product is well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I'm cooking this now and can't wait to serve it. I couldn't find andouille sausage so I used spicy turkey sausage. I also added a few dashes of black pepper and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
We loved this soup! The next time I make this, I will have some pumpkin and sausage that is not pureed so that the soup is creamy with chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States