Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Delicious I like my food with lots of flavor so I added some curry powder very yummy. I did cut the broth down to five cups though. I will definitely make this again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Every time I make this soup my family just inhales it!!! Making a double batch...using chorizo sausage, using maple syrup instead of praline and using canned pumpkin...always works for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This tasted like a pureed pancake breakfast with maple syrup and sauage links. Not bad, just not what I was expecting. Definitely something different. I subbed real maple syrup so maybe that's why it was too sweet for me. I also used sweet potatoes (but they might have been yams) Pureed with my immersion blender and worked great. Next time I will cut the maple syrup and brown sugar in half. Used the pre-cooked sausage crumbles. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Excellent soup. I adjusted the recipe for 4 servings because we have a small family. I used canned pumpkin, homemade turkey broth instead of chicken broth, and 100% pure maple syrup instead of praline liqueur (I am not sure who keeps praline liqueur, but I know it is not in mine.) The soup was great with all of these substitutions. Do not skip the puree step. If you do, the soup will be a watery consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Way too sweet for me when made with maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Nice! I tried a dairy free version as I didn't have any cream or milk on hand. Still yummy. Will try again with cream next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Pretty good soup recipe - sweet & spicy. I sauteed the onions with the sausage in 1 Tablespoon of butter. I used 1 and a half cans of pureed pumpkin & 32 ounces of low sodium chicken broth. I didn't have any praline liquer so substituted brandy. I used my immersion blender to blend it all up & then added the cream. Might try it with sage sausage or maple sausage for a different twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was fantastic. My skeptical fiance also loved it. Subbed andouille sausage for hot sausage and maple syrup for liquor. Omitted brown sugar and butter It was seriously good. I was worried it would be thin but after pureeing the consistency was smooth and soup like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crispypumkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Royalton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is a really interesting, tasty soup that is sure to be different than other pumpkin soups you've tried before--this turned out really good and would definitely be a treat to welcome the fall weather. Like other reviewers, I made a few substitutions, mostly because I wanted this to be a little lower fat than the original ingredients that were called for. I used spicy apple and chicken sausage links and then added about 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper to get a bit more heat. Also, I just used the first 2 TB's of butter and didn't add any more after the soup was finished. I used low-fat milk in place of the heavy cream and then also added about 1/2 cup lowfat sour cream which I whisked into the warm soup to blend. For spices, I also added some salt and pepper to taste and then some fresh parsley which I pureed into the blend. Like many reviewers, I also used maple suryp in lieu of the liquer. I didn't want to use fresh pumpkin because it's inconvenient to prepare, so I used a full 29 oz can (about 3 cups or 1 1/2 lbs) of pumpkin puree instead. This soup is both spicy and a little sweet--the pumpkin makes it very full-bodied and perfect for dinner on a cold evening. Definitely puree the soup--even after pureeing it a lot, mine still turned out a little grainy and chunky (the sour cream helped smooth it out) but maybe I will try a different kind of sausage next time (like ground) to help--I don't think the sausage links blend very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States