Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Nice! I tried a dairy free version as I didn't have any cream or milk on hand. Still yummy. Will try again with cream next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Pretty good soup recipe - sweet & spicy. I sauteed the onions with the sausage in 1 Tablespoon of butter. I used 1 and a half cans of pureed pumpkin & 32 ounces of low sodium chicken broth. I didn't have any praline liquer so substituted brandy. I used my immersion blender to blend it all up & then added the cream. Might try it with sage sausage or maple sausage for a different twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was fantastic. My skeptical fiance also loved it. Subbed andouille sausage for hot sausage and maple syrup for liquor. Omitted brown sugar and butter It was seriously good. I was worried it would be thin but after pureeing the consistency was smooth and soup like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crispypumkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Royalton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is a really interesting, tasty soup that is sure to be different than other pumpkin soups you've tried before--this turned out really good and would definitely be a treat to welcome the fall weather. Like other reviewers, I made a few substitutions, mostly because I wanted this to be a little lower fat than the original ingredients that were called for. I used spicy apple and chicken sausage links and then added about 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper to get a bit more heat. Also, I just used the first 2 TB's of butter and didn't add any more after the soup was finished. I used low-fat milk in place of the heavy cream and then also added about 1/2 cup lowfat sour cream which I whisked into the warm soup to blend. For spices, I also added some salt and pepper to taste and then some fresh parsley which I pureed into the blend. Like many reviewers, I also used maple suryp in lieu of the liquer. I didn't want to use fresh pumpkin because it's inconvenient to prepare, so I used a full 29 oz can (about 3 cups or 1 1/2 lbs) of pumpkin puree instead. This soup is both spicy and a little sweet--the pumpkin makes it very full-bodied and perfect for dinner on a cold evening. Definitely puree the soup--even after pureeing it a lot, mine still turned out a little grainy and chunky (the sour cream helped smooth it out) but maybe I will try a different kind of sausage next time (like ground) to help--I don't think the sausage links blend very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Used hot Italian sausage because it's what we had and like spicy food. 1/2 the sugar, 24oz. frozen organic butternut squash, 6c. broth to ensure not too thin and this made a delightful soup that wasn't too sweet (what I was afraid of and why I started with 1/2 the sugar which was perfect for us). Thanks for the different yet delightful new addition to our recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This recipe is absolutely fantastic. The flavor may vary depending on the brand of andouille you use, but overall, it's a true crowd pleaser. Nix the expensive praline liquor and sub maple syrup for a sweet flavor and there's no need for the butter (save a few calories anyway). Everyone I've served this too absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
It smells and tastes amazing! I ended up keeping it in a slow cooker for about 3 hours before I added the cream and blended it. It worked perfectly. We're making it for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
i absolutely loved this soup! my husband didn't care for it AT ALL. but i love pumpkin and he doesn't...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Outstanding and so easy - took a couple shortcuts! I used 1.5 hot italian sausage - after browning (no butter) adding large chopped onion, thyme 3 cans pumpkin, 1 1/2 chicken broth and 1 pint 1/2 and 1/2 - whaalaaa! It was already sweet so didn't add anything else and it's perfect. Used emersion blender...Made a huge pot - enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this soup and it was an instant hit!! My local liquor store had never heard of Praline Liqueur and suggested that I use Disarrono as a substitue. It worked marvelously!!! This will be a new favorite in my Thanksgiving menu!!! The only other change was I could not find Andouille and had to substitute sage sausage which also worked well. Im making it again tonight for some friends!! Thanks for such a great use for pumpkin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States