Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I have made it so many times I have lost count. I usually use sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, omit the praline liqueur, use a bit less brown sugar (to taste), and rarely add the heavy cream (if I do add it I replace with fat free half and half). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
My husband doesn't normally go for spicy food, but I added a bit extra heavy cream for him and he loved it. This was fantastic and is sure to be seen many more times around our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara_Lane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I'm very disappointed. This was a pretty bland soup. Maybe I did something wrong. I used maple syrup as suggested by others because I didn't have praline liqueur. I used two cans of pumpkin puree and at first 1/2 pound of andouille sausage. Because it was so bland, I ended up adding the other 1/2 pound of sausage. This helped to make it a little spicier, but something is missing and I'm not sure what. Maybe I should add another can of pumpkin puree. I was hoping it would have more of a pumpkin flavor. Maybe by reading all the positive reviews I was expecting too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Wow! Gourmet! I used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, like it says you can, omitted the praline liqueur and the onions, and it was still delicious. Will definitely make again. I might try putting some diced sausage in after pureeing to add some chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was easy and delicious! It gave me a great base to create my own version of P/S soup. I used a combo of sweet and spicy italian sausage and I did not puree the sausage--didn't sound right to me--I pureed soup before adding browned sausage. I feel like I changed so much in terms of ingredients,so I am adding my own recipe for my version, but thanks for getting me started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Everyon LOVED it! I took other reviewer's suggestions and used less broth (I ended up using a little over 6 C) to thicken it a little bit and maple syrup in lieu of the liquer. I also substituted Jimmy Dean sage sausage 'cos a couple of my guests do not like spicy food so I decided not to risk the andouille. Still it was a very flavorful soup, but it is filling! I plan to serve this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving but will be only serving it in small increments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Excellent. I did like some others and replaced the liquor with maple syrup. Made it sweet, but wonderful. Also, I did not puree this recipe - I couldn't bear to muck up that sausage (pureed meat is not a good thing, IMO, ;) - It was delicious, even my kids loved it. My daughter even took it to school in a thermos the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This soup is quite good. I would suggest not grinding the sausage if you can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This really deserves 4.5 stars. It's very good. I used two links of andouille and one link of chorizo, and almond liquer. I am intrigued by one poster who said they used breakfast sausage. I think I will try that next time. This recipe makes a lot of soup! But the leftovers are quite tasty as well. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
this soup is amazing!! it has become a tradition in our family for both thanksgiving and christmas!! 7 years running!! i use butterscotch liquer and 2 15oz cans of pumpkin. it tastes just as good with sweet sausage if you have family members who don't do spicy!! love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States