Pumpkin and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I cooked up more sausage and added it in after to give it a more chunky finish. This is my new favorite soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Amazing! First time in a long time that I've had something that both my wife AND myself - along with ALL 3 kids - absolutely raved about! When the 2 year old and the 5 year old are going back for third and fourth helpings then you know you're onto something good! I followed the recipe as closely as I could, but was missing a few ingredients and had to substitute. I used a leftover pumpkin that had been decorating the front porch for quite a while and roasted it in the over for a couple of hours. After pureeing it and adding 1/2 pound of breakfast sausage (all I had on hand!), I mixed in about 5 cups of stock along with the other ingredients - doubled the butter (since FAT is FLAVOR!), substituted whole milk for the cream (again, all I had on hand!) and substituted molasses for the praline liqueur AND the brown sugar. All I can say is - TRY IT. This will definitely become one of your new "go-to" Fall recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefHouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was incredible! All my roommates raved! I am a college student living in an apartment with 5 other girls. Food becomes scarce at the end of the quarter, and money runs low. I had a pumpkin that had gotten when my parents visited around Halloween time, and I decided I would make use of it as food. Being an individual under the age of 21, I could not obtain the praline liqueur, and I didn't want to spend the money for maple syrup, so I left it out. I also didn't have enough chicken stock, no cream, no thyme, and no andouille sausage. You may be wondering if I could even make the soup in this predicament. I could! For liquids, I used 2 cups of chicken broth, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 1/4 cups water. For the pumpkin, I cubed it, scooped out the seeds and roasted them, and roasted the pumpkin. I pureed the pumpkin before I began making the soup part. I used Portuguese sausage instead of andouille, and italian seasoning instead of thyme. The soup was thick and creamy, but not too thick. The whole pot was gone in one meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I adjusted to 4 servings, used a can of pumpkin puree, used spicy italian sausage in place of andouille, used 1/2 cup half and half and 2.5 cups of chicken stock so it was thicker. Mom approved:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this with maple syrup instead of the liqueur, 1 large and 1 small can of pumpkin puree and 1 large and 1 small can of chicken broth. I also omitted the butter. It is SO good. I took it to Thanksgiving dinner, and everyone loved it. So easy ... with canned pumpkin and an immersion blender, this can be ready in about 30 minutes start to finish. The flavors are so complex and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is delicious! The only things I changed, were that I sub'd hot Italian Sausage, the other sausage was too spicy for my taste. Also, no Praline liqueur, so sub'd a little maple syrup instead. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The soup is tasty and very, very rich. I served it as the main dish, but it really needs something to accompany it. After eating it for a few days (we love leftovers!), it was a bit much to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really good soup! We make it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We loved this and would definitely make it again. Substituting bourbon for the praline liquor worked just fine. We served it with homemade cornbread, which paired very nicely. I might make it creamier next time, but that's just because of my own personal preference; if you follow the recipes directions as is, the soup is appropriately creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Very delicious will now become one of my traditional recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States