Pumpernickel Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I loved this recipe! Very soft. It could have been sweeter though. I made it into rolls and used them for rueban sliders. My toddler loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frankaff
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I added 1/2 cup brow sugar to let the yeast activate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used extra cocoa since we don't have coffee and I skipped the milk powder and threw a dash of milk into the kitchenaid. We didn't have bread flour so I used the all-purpose. The texture and everything was good but my husband and I were very confused about a weird strong taste that we have not had in rye breads before. Possibly the caraway? Anyway we can eat it and enjoy it just fine but we will probably have that "what's in this?" face for a while on our first bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My only tweak was instead of using water plus instant coffee I just used brewed coffee in place of the water. A couple other pumpernickel recipes I tried were too heavy on the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
"RYElly" not a rye/pumpernickel bread. Don't get me wrong - homemade fresh bread right out of the oven is soooo yummy and such a treat it's hard to see the negative. However, after going through the motions of making this bread - measuring, tempering, rising and resting and rising and baking - then slicing a nice hunk off a fresh loaf with a pat of butter - I fully expected to taste rye/pumperknickel...and I didn't. It was good, but not flavorful. My husband said it best, "something is missing." I responded with, "YA, the rye/pumpernickel taste! Hello" Anyhoo - I won't be making this recipe again - I'll be on the look out for a higher rated rye/pumpernickel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoecr8zy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawthorn Woods, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great recipe. I used 2 tsp. of yeast rather than 1 1/2 tsp. I slightly increased the caraway seeds and added 1 T. of brown sugar to make the recipe suit my taste. The bread had a great flavor and great texture. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is a great loaf of bread. Especially good as TV snacks with thin slices of gravlax. I have this one saved on my personal reciope list. I used half the salt, omitted the coffee (did not have any), and used two squares of unsweetened chocolate in place of the cocoa. I melted the chocolate in a microve first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Still comes out great without the milk powder too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.j.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I love this bread with a cheese fondue! We served it to friends, one of whom insisted she didn't like pumpernickel or rye bread, and, yet, she thought this was fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I'am an executive chef and what I did was add 1tsp honey , another 1/2 teaspoon of yeast, tripled the amount of caraway. Used brewed coffee (strong) 1/2 cup in place of the water. made the dough to the right consistancy adding white flour as I went along. Kneaded for 5min in a kitchen aid. Let it rise 2 hours or to when the top flattens out . punched down diviided into 3 loaves. let rise again about 30min . baked at 450 for 20 min and then 350 until the center was 185 degrees. cooled on a wire rack. It was great. cant wait to try it with some homemade cured salmon .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States