Pumpernickel Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
This was an excellent bread. The only thing that I had happen, was that the top fell in. But I will try it again and make some adjustments. It was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
BEST BREAD, CRUNCHY CRUST AND GREAT TEXTURE, CAN'T WAIT TO MAKE IT AGAIN;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
I followed this recipe exactly as written, which is unusual for me! This bread is SO good! My family ate the whole loaf before dinner was even on the table! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLNLYTTON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Very good bread, I used less molasses thou and add caraway seeds (1 Tbs) and 1 tsp of instant coffee powder, the coffee gives a very good flavor and goes very well with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Halbinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texcoco, México, Mexico
Living In: Delegación Álvaro Obregón, Distrito Federal, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Best ever, I just changed the bread flour to 2 1/3 cups
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Everyone loved this, I followed the recipe except didn't have any rye flour so I used whole wheat. I think I will add honey or sugar next time as it looked sweeter than it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Very good and not at all as heavy as most pumpernickel breads are, especially when baked in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Looking for a bread recipe that used rye flour is how I came across this recipe. Plus it had all the things I was looking for. It used rye flour; it hadn’t been reviewed since 2009 and it was a ‘faceless’ recipe. A plus was that it was to be made in the bread machine. I knew that my bread machine could not handle baking a loaf that had 3 ½ cups of flour in it (I learned the hard way on another recipe), but it could handle mixing it up for me. I added all the ingredients and hit start. When it was time to bake, I just removed the dough and put it in a well greased loaf pan. I let it rise in a warm spot for 1 hour and then proceeded to bake at 350° for about 40 minutes. The bread is delicious and cut beautifully with the help from my electric knife. I served this with ‘Best Wild Rice Soup Ever’ and ‘Strawberry Cream Pie to Die For’ both AR recipes for my parents. It was my dad’s birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Nice flavor and texture bread. Plus with the bread machine doing all the work, it was quite easy. I made this bread with beef stew and it went well. The deep flavor might overwhelm a simpler soup like homestyle chicken. I look forward to using this recipe during the fall and winter months to accompany robust stews and soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJRARTEMIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I loved the rich flavor and great texture of this bread! I changed the recipe to be like my boyfriend's favorite bread at a fancy chain supermarket's bakery. I prepared the dough on the dough cycle of my bread machine (needed a little extra flour). At the end of the cylce I added about a cup of raisins and started the machine again to mix until the raisins were distributed. I then let the dough rise for one hour in a ball on a lightly greased 10 inch cast-iron frying pan. I baked the bread on the frying pan for 33 minutes at 375. It made a delicious bolle. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States