Pulled Chicken Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is awesome, my son loves it. I use it with whatever tomato sauce I have and its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made this for the family. Followed the recipe as listed. We all thought it was just ok. Probably won't make again, quite easy though. Could not find the "Progresso" fire roasted tomato sauce, so HAD to use spaghetti sauce that was similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was just ok. I even tweaked the seasonings a little after reading other reviews. Instead of just chili powder I used a bbq seasoning which had the chili powder in it too. I don't care for coleslaw much, so I topped with pickles. I probably will not make this again, but I do think the Fire Roasted Tomato sauce would be best used in a pasta dish, so I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I have to give this one 5 stars! It was very delicious in my opinion. I used Woeber's Sweet & Spicy Mustard instead of yellow mustard and instead of white sugar went with brown sugar. Absolutely delicious. Very quick and easy meal for a busy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by ItalianSpice
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this for dinner last night and I followed the recipe as it should be. I liked it but, I felt like it wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked. The sauce tasted good, it really did, but I think if I used more spices it would have tasted less like a pasta sauce and more like a BBQ sandwich. Great base to work with though. I REALLY liked that it called for the coleslaw to be put on top of the sandwich rather than as a side dish. It really brought out some fun textures! Someone had suggested to cook this in a slow cooker which I think is a fabulous idea! All-in-all, not my favorite but, I liked it enough to experiment again with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Photo by happysoupandrice
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I thought this recipe was good for a quick meal on a busy weeknight. I added a few more spices including fresh garlic, fresh ground pepper, kosher salt and a tiny bit of ground cumin. Served it on a fresh hoagie roll with a wedge of onion and a pickle. All the flavors came together really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happysoupandrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This made for a really quick and easy weeknight dinner. I added some extra chili powder and Frank's Hot Sauce. I topped it with Vernell's Slaw from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Lindseye117
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I do believe these were really good, once I added a few changes of course. I felt that these would do better as a crock pot recipe. I was right! Instead of chicken I did a beef roast (as I had one in the freezer and I did not feel like deboning a chicken). I sprinkled salt, pepper, tons of garlic powder, onion powder, and instead of the chili powder I did smoked paprika all over my roast. I literally rubbed the roast in the seasonings. Then I made the sauce according to the recipe and let it cook 8 hours on low. I believe I only added a little bit more salt and it was delish! For me if something seems "plain" or "missing something" it is usually lacking salt, plain and simple. As for garlic and onion, I ALWAYS add that to all my recipes, just because I think all food can use that extra flavor. Also, I should add that while these were delicious on their own, adding the coleslaw brought the flavors to a whole other level. I do believe I will make this again and try some different experiments for some more awesome flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Quick and easy meal with store bought rotisserie chicken and coleslaw kit. The coleslaw gives it the added flavor needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Unfortunately these were a big flop on game day at our house. I tried to use the recipe exactly as written to give an accurate review. As written, these were basically inedible. I felt like I just soaked some chicken in tomato soup. My guests were also not impressed and most did not finish the first round of "un-doctored" sandwiches. I added in a whole bottle of BBQ sauce and some cayenne pepper. That at least got the guys to eat them. I don't think I will ever make these again. Prepared according to the recipe they are bland and the sauce is too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pulled Chicken Sandwiches

See time-saving tricks for quick-and-easy pulled chicken sandwiches.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States