Puggie Woogie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Great cake doughnut recipe. Fries up almost perfectly round, except for little points left from dropping the batter with a spoon - looks a little funny, but tastes great considering how easy it is. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Yummmmy! I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 cup dried sweetened cranberries to the dry ingredients. I think these will become a family favourite, the first batch didn't even cool off before they were gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Went over big! I added cinnamon to mine and also added it to the final 'rolling in' sugar. Will do over and over. Thanks! :-))))) A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I thought the batter for this was too thin. I add a little more flour, some nutmeg and cinnamon. Next time I might add cocoa and make them chocolate. My family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROKDARJELING

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I also found that this recipe was too watery, and I think we left it out for a while, but I'm not sure that it got less runny over time. I would maybe just throw in another 1/4-1/2 cup flour. It ended up coming out like funnel cake, and we also used it as a batter to coat other things like twinkies and oreo cookies =). It was very good. We coated the plain puggie woogie with Domino's (I think) cinnamon sugar. Good stuff! If you are gonna eat it plain, I bet it'd be good with lemon/orange zest, or a little bit of some flavored extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
These were so easy and tasted just like the doughnut holes we buy at a local bakery. They reminded the kids of funnel cakes "little balls instead of big ropes"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
One word...YUMMY...tastes like a cross between a churro and a funnel cake...two of my favorites...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SanDiegoSandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Have been making these from this recipe for 9 years....still love them and still making them whenever we get a doughnut craving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Very good, very easy, a quick snack when I want one, my sisters go absolutely nuts whenever I offer to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Very good. I think the instructions could be a little clearer. The batter was too runny at first to stay in a round shape, but I noticed that after the batter sat for a few minutes, it swelled & became thick enough to drop into a round, doughnut hole shape. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States