Puggie Woogie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
AWESOME!!! The only thing I did differently was rolled in powdered sugar. Next time I will try cinnamon and white sugar as another reviewer suggested. A hit with my whole family young and old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cantrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Wow Wow Wow. These are by far the best doughnuts I've ever made. They are so soft and just melt in your mouth. The kids in my family (all 7 of them) completely lost their minds after eating these last night. They wanted them for breakfast this morning. Only alteration I made was to add a tsp of cinnamon to the dry mix and added an extra 1/3 cup of flour to stiffen the batter. We rolled some in cinnamon sugar, some in powdered sugar, and also made a glaze. Will definitely be making these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Used others suggestions and added vanilla to the batter - they were great and very simple to make. Agreed, to let the batter sit for a little bit and they puff up more like doughnuts when dropped. Will definitely make again and add other possibilities next time, like different types of chocolate chips to the batter. Hubby really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very tasty! Since the other reviews said the batter was a bit runny, I used a little more flour and little less milk than the recipe calls for. I also added about 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. Rolled in cinnamon sugar while still warm. So easy and delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa luvz2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Reminds me of a fritter withou the corn or apples. It suffices if you don't have the ingredients or the Pillsbury dough for doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
REALLY LIKED THESE, QUICK AND EASY, ONLY PROBLEM WAS BATTER WAS RUNNY, SO THEY ALL LOOKED LIKE TADPOLES WHEN DONE, LOL COVERED THEM IN SUGAR AND SERVED WITH A GLASS OF MILK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Texas, USA
Living In: Bruni, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were ok. There is so many more recipe that are like this that turn out alot better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
My boys (hubby too) just LOVED this. I had a hard time keeping them away while I was frying the little Puggie Woogies. I was given strict instructions to make this again. What I love about this recipe is that it uses ingredients that most of us have in the pantry. It's a recipe that one can make on the spur of the moment when guests pop in unexpectedly. Thank you Enaid - this one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I think these are delicious, little donuts. I had to add a little more flour to my dough because the 2/3 cup milk made it to runny. Either omit some milk, or up your flour amount. I also added cinnamon to my sugar, and some vanilla to my dough mixture. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
These were yummy, easy and fast, but keep in mind you will have to watch them carefully while you fry them (no time to run off and do something else). I followed another reviewer's advice and added cinnamon to the batter, but upon tasting the first complete "puggie woogie" I felt it needed something more. I added cinnamon to the sugar I rolled them in, which improved them a lot. Next time I will add lemon zest to the batter as well, just to give the flavours a lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States