Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is one of the easiest recipes, but what I do is slit them, and take some of the extra dough out; and then I put a teaspoonful of chocolate ganache on the bottom half, then fill. Certainly for a chocoholic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I've made these many times. There are times when they turn out like flat stone, and times where they are perfect. I'm not sure if it's the eggs, the way I beat them, should I leave them at room temp. before beating them, not enough time in the oven, not enough time cooling them. I've always made this recipe the same way every time and they always turn out different. I'm sure there is a good reason!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
What a great recipe!It's simple and so versatile. I served mine with a little goat cheese in the bottom, topped with smoked salmon, dill, and a tiny lemon piece. Everyone loved them. I'm already thinking about the endless variations this recipe lends itself to in terms of fillings - how about mushrooms sauteed with a little red wine and rosemary topped with grated parmesan? I will also try adding flavourings - herbs, spices, grated cheese to the dough. Make sure to gently scoop out the soft eggy parts inside after the puffs have cooled so you don't end up with that eggy taste. Thanks so much for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
EASY! I ran out of bread and it was snowing, so I made these and stuffed them with egg salad for a quick lunch. Now my husband and daughter only have egg salad this way. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I used this recipe to make the "choux" that I wanted to use for my wedding cake (traditional French "piece montee", or "croquembouche". So needless to say, I think this is the best recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolatePanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
The results were dismal. I know I'm the only one that seemd to have this problem so I'll have to try again. they were as hard as you can get no puff at all, just little hocky pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
These puffs were just great. I used smoked salmon spread(from this site) as filling and they were a delicious finger food for my cocktail party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I can't believe I made these and they turned out perfect! I always mess up anything that remotely resembles baking and thought for sure these would be no different. BUT they turned out perfect! I'll be making these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These are so good! I do the bake at 425 for 10 min, reduce to 350 for 15 and they come out perfect. I don't use parchment or grease the sheet. When you pull them off they have a natural hole for filling. I use the curry chicken salad from this site in these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This turns out great. Just couple of pointers:1) beat eggs first and drizzle in a little at a time; 2)don't grease cookie sheet or puffs will flatten - use parchment paper instead; 3)bake at 425 for 10 mins then reduce to 350 and bake for another 15-20 mins or until moisture disappears 4)once moisture disappears, turn off the oven and crack open the door but leave them in a little longer to dry out completely;5)puncture small hole on side to allow any excess steam out before cooling completely on rack- this prevents soggines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Broccoli Puffs with Sriracha Sauce

Bring your holiday party to life with delicious bite-size appetizers.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States