Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I covered and baked these basted in butter so I wouldn't have to fry. Amazingly good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
UPDATE: 4 years ago I gave this recipe a so-so review. My skills have improved over the last few years so I decided to try them again last night. Fantastic results!! I used Hong Kong style Wonton wrappers bought at a local Asian market and a mixture of water and cornstarch brushed on the edge to seal. I think the cornstarch and water was really the key in keeping these suckers closed. Also filled each with only a level teaspoon of filling. Made about 30 total. Be warned, they are a bit time consuming. But worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Awesome! These have great flavor, and take very little time. I use fresh jalapenos, (quite a few because I like them spicy), and dip them in jalapeno jelly. Be sure your oil is at a good temperature, (I fry a couple empty wrappers prior to the real thing and make certain they brown up in 5-10 seconds), and seal the wontons with a paste made of cornstarch and water, otherwise they may explode.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jose1295
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
These were good everybody loved them… I actually baked these and folded them into little envelopes. I lightly sprayed Pam on both sides. And I baked them at 350 for 5 to 8 minutes on both sides. And they came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
These are a litte too cream cheesey for us, so next time I would cut back on that. I had a hard time finding wonton wrappers so I found some mini fillo shells in my grocer's freezer section. They are already pre-baked so all I had to do was scoop a little filling in each, reheat in oven for about five minutes and done. Saved ALOT of time by 1)Not having to wrap all those wontons and 2)Not having to fry them. Would suggest this as an alternative if you don't want to take the time or if you can't find the wrappers. Overall, these are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
We made these without the monterey jack, just the cream cheese and jalapeno, served it with sweet n sour sauce, or red pepper jelly for dipping. Everyone loved them! an easier, tastier version of a jalapeno popper! They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious! The only alteration I made was to leave out the green onions due to personal preference. I know these will be a big hit every time I make them. Edit to original review: We now bake these instead of frying them. I cut a large egg roll wrapper into four squares using a pizza cutter and then tuck the squares into mini muffin cups and fill them with the cream cheese mixture. I put them in the oven at 350 until the corners of the wrappers start to brown. They are delicious that way. Fried is still good, but doing it this way eliminates 80% of the work and it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe! I serve these at my Christmas party every year and they are the first thing to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
These were delicious! I made these as appetizers for my Asian-themed Thanksgiving dinner and everyone gobbled them up! I made them exactly as written and the only thing I noticed was that the wontons took a while to fold and seal, so give yourself plenty of time. I stuffed the wontons the day before Thanksgiving and fried them on the day of. It made approximately 50 wontons, stuffed with approximately one teaspoon each of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I should have doubled this recipe. It was easy and everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHONDA JAHN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Chicken Puffs

These little bites are irresistible as an appetizer or entree.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States