Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I've made this countless times for a variety of parties, I have found no one who doesn't love it. The recipe is always requested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
These were really good. I used a small deep fryer and kept the temp at 375 and none of them burst open. It was time consuming to make them but they turned out great! **Note: I tried to make these again after my initial review and I reused the same oil, and the leftover wonton wrappers that I had kept in the freezer, and they came out terrible. They all broke open and were chewy. Definitely use fresh wonton wrappers and fresh oil.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
These are a litte too cream cheesey for us, so next time I would cut back on that. I had a hard time finding wonton wrappers so I found some mini fillo shells in my grocer's freezer section. They are already pre-baked so all I had to do was scoop a little filling in each, reheat in oven for about five minutes and done. Saved ALOT of time by 1)Not having to wrap all those wontons and 2)Not having to fry them. Would suggest this as an alternative if you don't want to take the time or if you can't find the wrappers. Overall, these are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
MMMM... these are really good. Tip: if you can't find these wonton wrappers go to your local chinese restaurant. They sold me 25 wonton skins for $1.50! I couldn't find them in the stores. Really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Moltisanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, New York, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
HUGE success at New Year's Eve party the other night! One guy kept saying that they were so "addicting". His wife looked at me and said "Thanks. Now I have to cook." I'll take that as a compliment. All I did different from the original recipe was that I used egg roll wrappers cut into fourths, fresh jalapenos processed in processor, and used a blend of Mexican shredded cheese instead of just Monterey Jack. Am making these again for holiday party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
These were fantastic. We couldn't get enough of them. I made a few changes to try and speed up the process. I didn't have any green onions, so I omitted them from the recipe. I stuffed the wontons with about 3/4 teaspoon of filling, too much and they tended to explode and the filling ouzed out when I cooked them. I moistened the inside with a wet finger and then scrunched up the top, just like regular wontons in soup, creating a ball of filling. I then stuck them in my deep fryer for 25-30 seconds which was at 170. The outside turned nice and crispy which was a nice contrast the cream spicy filling. My husband loved them and has become addicted to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This would have been a great recipe, but like another reviewer, I couldn't get the wontons to cook correctly--they broke and spilled the contents to make a greasy mess in the pan! The filling smelled so good, but this was a large waste of time for my results. I guess I may need more practice working with wonton wrappers???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
THE BEST! Made this for the superbowl so I doubled the recipe. I reheated the leftovers the next day on a Pampered Chef stone and they crisped right up. These are a very easy but very addicting snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
WOW!!! everyone loved this!! tripled the peppers is all I did different! WARNING: they are addicting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I've made these a couple of times now. I think they are just OK, but everyone else seems to love them, so I guess I will continue to make them for my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Chicken Puffs

These little bites are irresistible as an appetizer or entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States