Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
These were delicious! Like many others, I varied the recipe to make it what I wanted. I omitted the onions and garlic, used pepperjack cheese instead of monterey jack and I used 4 fresh jalapenos (sauteed in butter first) rather than the jarred jalapenos. The favor was phenomenal! Cheesy and slightly spicy and the perfect amount of jalapeno flavor! I followed the recommendations of others and used a water/cornstarch mixture to seal the wrappers and I didn't have any issue with them bursting in the oil like others did. The only flaw in the recipe that I could find is that 1 tsp of filling seemed like way too LITTLE! The fried wrappers seemed rather empty! That's easy to remedy and I'll definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Doubled the recipe, used 1 bag shredded cheddar, 2t garlic, 2 pkg neufchatel cheese, 10 strips crumbled bacon, 8oz diced japalenos. (omitted green onion). Brushed wontons with olive oil and baked for 10min at 475F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We added bacon and baked them at 350 for 20 mins. They are awesome. I can see how they would be amazing fried though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Ponce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Just made these and they were very good. I added crumbled bacon to the stuffing mixture. I did start out using fresh tam jalapenos then, added some pickled to more flavor. I did add crab meat to halve of the batch. Next time, will use the pickled to get more jalapeno flavor throughout the cream cheese mixture. Made about 30 with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sacook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This was definately a hit. Next time I will however make a few changes. I will add real bacon bits as well as red pepper to the mixture. I did bake them instead of frying and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Make a double batch if you are taking to a party...these things go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndreaB82

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ostrander, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
We loved these (though we were feeling them the next day)! Delicious and addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I dont like jalepeno's, but my dad loves Poppers, so I tried this recipe for him for his birthday and WOW was it a success!! My mom and dad BOTH devoured these and I made a double batch! I used previous reviewers suggestion and helped to seal the won-ton wrappers with corn starch and water. That was a HUGE help! Time consuming to make, but worth it based on the reactions. Made as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Yum! Just like a restaurant appetizer! This was my first time using wonton wrappers. Word of advice - Use lots of water and a fork to seal or else they will pop open in the oil and create a mess. I halved the recipe and made more than enough for two people. Used reduced fat cream cheese, poppers from the garden, and cheddar instead of jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puffs

These jalapeno and cheese-stuffed wontons are even better than poppers.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Chicken Puffs

These little bites are irresistible as an appetizer or entree.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States