Puffed Cauliflower Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was delicious! I thought it had a great taste. Not too bland at all. I did add a little garlic salt, but other than that I felt the recipe was great the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I used 16 oz frozen cauliflower and it turned out fine. This is probably the best cauliflower/broccoli recipe I have ever found. I made it exactly as written, except for the fact that I used frozen instead of fresh cauliflower, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was really quite good. I would give it 4 1/2 stars if I could. It wasn't over the top, but it has the potential to be so. It's not difficult at all. Just a couple of minutes more than making a simple cheese sauce would have taken. I had frozen cauliflower that I was looking for a new way to prepare, and although fresh would probably have been tastier, frozen worked just fine. I just let it thaw and drain in a colander and skipped the blanching process. I did soften some minced shallots in the butter before adding the flour, used garlic seasoned bread crumbs, threw in a slice of pepper jack cheese along with the cheddar, and topped with cheddar flavored french fried onions. I wouldn't mess with the original recipe too much, but the next time (and I will make this again---even hubby liked it) I plan to add a little bacon. Probably some store-bought bacon bits in a jar. After all, I don't know anything that isn't better with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
My husband and daughters loved this, and it's really simple to make too! It does take a bit of preperation but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is the best way I have ever had cauliflower! Let's face it, it's a bland veggie. I did add some minced onion (good decision) and would have preferred the pepper jack cheese (as suggested by others) but I was out of it. Not a 5 star rating for me only because I don't HAVE to HAVE this again. I will use this recipe when I prepare cauliflower. I might just add some sundried tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Well, it's not something to just whip up when you're in a hurry...but it sure is worth the effort when you have the time! I've made this twice, now - once as written and once with half cauliflower and half broccoli. Both were great, but I think I liked the half-and-half even better. I served it with lamb-stuffed bell peppers last night (cooked them at the same time at 375 degrees, adding 5 minutes to the recipe time) and received raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I am giving this only three stars, BUT I think next time it will be 5 strong stars. The flavor was fantastic, really worked well together. I took the advise of the other reviewers and added sauteed onions. I somehow skipped the part that says cook cauliflower first (I kept thinking, gosh that's wierd!) It turned out raw (eek!) I will definately make this again...correctly! Maybe with broccoli...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I added onion and garlic powders and I still found it to be a bit underwhelming considering the steps that went into it. My gang did not comment either way, which told me how they felt. Not a bad dish by any stretch of the imagination, however, I didn't feel it was worth the effort. The recipe certainly has good bones, but I wish I could think of something that would make this dish sing; possibly a pepper jack cheese? I'll give this another shot but with some modifications. Thanks for a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
A little bland. I think I will saute some onions next time and add them. Other than that, turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This is really good. Next time I'm going to try it with Pepper-Jack cheese to give it a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Cheese Sauce for Broccoli and Cauliflower

There's nothing better than a creamy Cheddar cheese sauce.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States