Puffed Cauliflower Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
this didnt turn out like i thought it was going to! Maybe I just did something wrong! I thought there was to much egg taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
We liked this dish. Cauliflower is the star of this dish. With that being said, cauliflower is a bland vegetable. I think I will add chives next time just to add a little color and subtle flavor. I agree with other reviewers who found this recipe needs more flavor. But, if cauliflower is to be the main focus only then the dish is a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This was a good side dish...nothing to be excited about and it tasted a bit more like a breakfast dish then a dinner side--- very eggy but I guess one could assume that by looking at the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
No one else in my home will eat cauliflower, so when my dad sent me a large head of romanesco cauliflower (google it for some wild pictures of it), I decided to transform it into a casserole that would keep for a couple days. The romanesco is an unusually spicy cauliflower which I am sure enhanced the overall outcome. Still, this is a good recipe. In an effort to make it less quiche-y (as some people commented), I used only 2 eggs instead of the 3 called for in the recipe. I sauteed one medium onion and added a couple teaspoons of minced garlic at the end of the saute. I believe it turned out perfect. I added a little grated cheese on top during the last 5 minutes & it was gorgeous to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I am going to try this and add a little whole grain mustard to the sauce...I like the idea of Jack cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was ok as written but not great. I tasted it along the way after the cheese sauce was added and before the egg. It was really good. Something happened when I put the egg whites in and baked it. While it puffed, it had more of a cauliflower souffle taste. I'm not the best cheese sauce maker, but will use the cheese sauce from now on. Just No Egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
It was ok... after a few bites I acquired the little bit of flavor that was there. Some suggestions I have would be to not put the breadcrumbs on top because they burned a little bit and all the flavor was in the breadcrumbs. Also, I think if make it again, I won't use the whipped egg around it, and i would just leave the cauliflower cheese part as a casserole and bake that for 30 minutes instead. If you put some spices in it, perhaps some italian seasoning or garlic or something, it would be quite good. The cheesy cauliflower part just needed something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Was very yummy! Mixed some chopped chives through before baking. Went down a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The egg makes this taste more "brunch" than side dish. I did make changes similar to other reviews. my additions included - 1 cup cheddar and 1 cup pepperjack. onions. groud ham. oh and i did use frozen cauli - not my choice. IF I make again I will decrease or eliminate the egg so it tastes like a veggie! oh and fresh cauli, because I will run to the store next time. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I always confused how to cook cauliflower. I even had a doubt when I tried to make it but it turned really good! My huband loves it. I'll certainly make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Loaded Cauliflower

Mashed and baked cauliflower with sour cream and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States