Puffed Cauliflower Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
No one else in my home will eat cauliflower, so when my dad sent me a large head of romanesco cauliflower (google it for some wild pictures of it), I decided to transform it into a casserole that would keep for a couple days. The romanesco is an unusually spicy cauliflower which I am sure enhanced the overall outcome. Still, this is a good recipe. In an effort to make it less quiche-y (as some people commented), I used only 2 eggs instead of the 3 called for in the recipe. I sauteed one medium onion and added a couple teaspoons of minced garlic at the end of the saute. I believe it turned out perfect. I added a little grated cheese on top during the last 5 minutes & it was gorgeous to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I am going to try this and add a little whole grain mustard to the sauce...I like the idea of Jack cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was ok as written but not great. I tasted it along the way after the cheese sauce was added and before the egg. It was really good. Something happened when I put the egg whites in and baked it. While it puffed, it had more of a cauliflower souffle taste. I'm not the best cheese sauce maker, but will use the cheese sauce from now on. Just No Egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
It was ok... after a few bites I acquired the little bit of flavor that was there. Some suggestions I have would be to not put the breadcrumbs on top because they burned a little bit and all the flavor was in the breadcrumbs. Also, I think if make it again, I won't use the whipped egg around it, and i would just leave the cauliflower cheese part as a casserole and bake that for 30 minutes instead. If you put some spices in it, perhaps some italian seasoning or garlic or something, it would be quite good. The cheesy cauliflower part just needed something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Was very yummy! Mixed some chopped chives through before baking. Went down a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
The egg makes this taste more "brunch" than side dish. I did make changes similar to other reviews. my additions included - 1 cup cheddar and 1 cup pepperjack. onions. groud ham. oh and i did use frozen cauli - not my choice. IF I make again I will decrease or eliminate the egg so it tastes like a veggie! oh and fresh cauli, because I will run to the store next time. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I always confused how to cook cauliflower. I even had a doubt when I tried to make it but it turned really good! My huband loves it. I'll certainly make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years and my family likes it alot. Its not an over flavored dish. But if you enjoy califlower, you should enjoy this dish. I usually serve it when we have guests and usually with steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this for a church dinner ,I tripled the recipe added some green onions and a few bacon bit,s from a jar ,a little extra cheese,and a touch of garlic power.All I brought home from church that day was the empty pan .This recipe is a keeper.. As as minister wife you have to be piano player or a great cook,I don,t play the piano,so I am all way,s looking for new recipes and All Recipes never fails to provide great ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
We really enjoyed this dish. My son ate almost the entire pan by himself. I didn't have cheddar in the house, so I used pepper jack instead. I'm planning to double the recipe and make a larger batch to take to a post-Thanksgiving family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States