Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Buttery, crusty and browns nicely. I didn't have time to refrigerate it over night, so I stuck it in the freezer for about 20 minutes then refrigerated it for about another 15 minutes and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
THANK YOU... THANK YOU... THANK YOU!!! I had been making this pastry dough for years, until I lost the recipe. I called it "1 2 3 Puffed Pastry" because I always doubled the recipe for my LARGE extended family, for the holidays. I remembered the amounts "1 2 3" but my mind kept telling me I used cream cheese. When I found this recipe the light went on...LOL I used SOUR CREAM... not cream cheese...DUH! Roll the dough out thin (1/8" to 1/4") cut out 2-1/2" rounds of dough. Place a scant teaspoonful of Solo brand fruit, nut, or poppy seed filling down the center. Fold the sides up and over the filling, overlapping the dough and pinching together to keep the dough from unfolding during baking. Bake on parchment lined cookie sheets, in a 375 degree oven, 12 to 15 mins or until light golden brown. When baked, cool completely on wire rack and dust with powdered sugar. Since there is no sugar in the dough you can even use savory fillings of cheeses, vegetables or meats, for great appetizers. I can't THANK YOU enough, Patti. My family will be delighted, that I can make one of their favorites once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Great recipie. Uses few ingredients so you don't have to check the card every second; quick to make; great texture. I modified it b/c i never used sour cream before as follows-- use half the required sour cream and add cold water until soft dough forms (3-4tbs). It was just right for my apple strudel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used a cheese grater to "grate" the butter over the flour. It made for quick work in combining the ingredients. I used reduced fat sour cream and 3/4 cup butter. Resulting dough still baked out beautiful and flakey. Thanks for this easy and terrific recipe, Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This is a great recipe. I've tried different recipe for puff pastry but this is the most successful one I ever had.Just follow the directions. Make sure you put some flour on the counter before you roll so it won't stick and also over the dough. It may be hard once it came out from the fridge but please be patient because once you started rolling it, it becomes more softer after. Sprinkle flour often on top so the dough won't stick to the roller. I usually bake it at 350 F and the result is just amazing. My friends love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This was a great recipe. I loved the fact that it called for things I had on hand. Make sure you roll it very thin to get good results! If it's too thick it will resemble a dumpling, and you don't want that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArlenePlunkett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I was very glad to find a recipe for puff pastry that didn't call for shortening. However, I couldn't bring myself to use that much butter, either. I halved the butter and it still came out quite flaky and tender--maybe a little stickier than I would have liked when I was rolling it, but I'll take that trade-off for the extra stick of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEYRAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This recipe is so easy, and great because I don't like to use store-bought puff pastry because of the trans fats. I used this dough to line muffin cups and baked them filled with lemon custard. Next I'll try pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANANDBENNETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I am an inept cook when it comes to pastry. And this recipe was fabulous!!! Simple and turned out fantastic. I didn't know I could make something like that. I will be using this recipe time after time. Thank you for submiting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I love this recipe! It's so easy and tastes wonderful whatever I use for. Only complaint - I love sour cream and the smell of it while I work with the dough just about drives me crazy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States