Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Im shocked that this came out soooo good!!!Thank u !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This must be the easiest and most delicious puff pastry recipe ever. My family raved non stop about it. I used it to make apple turnovers and custard tarts. Next I will make chicken pot pie. Definitely my new go to crust recipe. It is very difficult to screw up. A tip I have is I put everything in a food processor, then dumped it on saran wrap and wrap it up tightly and refrigerate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
The flavor of this pie crust was absolutely wonderful, but I had a hard time handling the dough. It was waaay too delicate. It also didn't puff up. Overall, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I wish I could give this 100 stars. I've always had trouble making pie dough- I'd add too much water, overwork it, you name it. With this recipe though, the ingredients came together perfectly. I grated in the butter as per reviewers suggestions (a wonderful idea). I chilled for about 6-7 hours, floured my surface and rolling pin well, and had no trouble whatsoever with the dough sticking or tearing. I used it to make a chicken pot pie and it was incredibly flaky. This is just... the perfect dough for me. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU phaylock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesskrystal4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Oh I have to give this one a 5 start rating. This was the most excellent pastry I have ever made and so easy. My husband and I have been fighting over who makes the best pie crust. I think I just won with this recipe. I love the idea that it took NO shortening at all. I did use as one viewer had said and used a cheese grater to cut in the butter, Worked like a charm. I then rolled out, cut into 7.5x6.5 triangles and added cold mashed potatoes, seasoned ground beef and swiss cheese. Closed them using 1 egg to seal edges and glazed the top with egg and baked in over for 17-15 mins at 400 degrees. Makes a great meal for everyone. I can't wait to use this recipe for my next Apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I appear to be the only person who had trouble with this! My dough looked fantastic, but when I went to bake it, the butter melted and ran off the pan into the bottom of the stove! It was a disaster since I had people coming over. I was hoping to use this recipe to make pasties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dressagegrrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Have used this recipe several times for pies, cookies, and turnovers. Perfect every time. I sometimes replace the sour cream with yogurt and it still works wonderfully. One of those crusts that gets people remarking "the crust is the best part!". Have also subbed some cold coconut oil in a pinch when I didn't have enough butter on hand...still perfect. I think I used this one originally because I REFUSE to use shortening in anything and liked that this recipe called for real butter. Great recipe that you'll rely on for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This recipe was not only sooo easy, but it was delicious!!! From this 8 serving recipe I rolled out a top and bottom crust for a 9" chicken pot pie. I didn't chill it like the recipe suggested but I had to add a lot of flour when rolling it out. After placing the crust in the pie plate, I added the middle ingredients, the top crust and baked it at 375 for 30 mins. Definitely not the healthiest meal I've ever made but perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Excellent and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelAirBritt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made this pastry because I wanted to make apple turnovers. While this dough is delicious, it is NOT puff pastry. It is just like pie crust. I ended up having mini apple pies. I followed all directions, but the dough just does not fluff up and become nice and flaky like the puff pastry you would find in the freezer section. It is dense just like a regular pie crust. I'm still searching for a nice puffy, flaky recipe. But this one is still yummy, just not what I call puff pastry. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States