Puff Pastry Valentine Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I didn't use the topping suggested. Instead I used honey, orange peel, nutmeg and chopped walnuts. I mixed the honey, orange peel, nutmeg and then sprinkled the walnuts on. I liked that these weren't so so sweet as some cookies can be. These were quick and easy, will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I was looking to use some leftover puff pastry I had from another recipe. I found this one. I took this idea and made valentine sopapillas. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on them before and after baking. Honey (optional) on them also after they're done. They were a big hit! Thank you for the idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This was an easy and tasty treat! My caramel topping seemed to run off during baking, but still left a slight sweetness, which was nice. Also, mine were a little puffier than the picture, but they still looked nice and tasted good. This was a fun recipe, that I would love to play around with some more! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
used the caramel and then topped with pecan pie flavored pecans diced up. first of all they are not sweet at all, they didn't seem to have any taste actually. maybe this was because most of the caramel came off in the cooking process (which required me to have to soak my pans for an extended period of time in hopes of saving them...parchment paper should have been suggested) they did not store well at all. my 8 yr old who likes anything dessert-like hated them, my husband who is a human vacum has not touched them after the first try. they were a total flop. will never make again, and that is something i have never before put on a recipe review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
3 stars for the general idea, but has anyone tried to bake them plain and then apply the caramel topping (warmed and possibly thinned out a little) and sprinkle with toasted coconut or almonds? I probably would use honey instead of caramel. And to keep the pastry from rising too much, it should be docked a few times with a fork. O-o-o-o, how about dipping the tops in warm chocolate ganache, then sprinkling with ...? Time to get the puff pastry out of the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Lovely little tea-time treats! Had a sheet of defrosted pastry to use, and not much time, so I curiously baked a batch using sweetened flaked coconut. My hubby burst through the door after snow shovelling, and enjoyed sampling a couple while they were still warm. I always use parchment paper when baking, and clean-up was a breeze, although I am sorry to have just read the difficulties the previous poster encountered. :( As two family members are allergic to chocolate, I look forward to making and sharing these simple pastries again, over a cuppa. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I agree with mamainmass.....the carmel melts and slides off with the almonds. They were rather blah. Then I took one heart, brushed with egg white, spread a little raspberry jam on it and topped it with another heart. Put the carmel and the almonds on after baking. Took lots of extra time, came out a little better but not enough to want to make these again. mominmesa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Can basically make these cookies with any kind of topping. I didn't have any caramel so I just used cinnamon sugar and still came out good, nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States