Puff Pastry Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by AmberJo
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
These were great! Rolled out the puff pastry on a floured surface and had no trouble getting it to cook up. I didn't have pesto so I made a garlic and herb blend sauce to use in its place and it was great. I think this recipe could be very versatile. My family really enjoyed this and we'll be trying it again with the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I really liked this recipe and even my 4 year old thought it was good. I also tried it with chicken and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Although I did not follow the recipe exactly, I felt the need to review it because it is such a wonderful addition to our recipe box. I used roasted red pepper feta because the grocery store I went to did not have pesto. It was so delicious I cannot bear to try it with pesto. My husband said it was one of the best things I have made. And on top of that, it was so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckylocke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My family loves salmon and spinach so I was really excited to make this after reading all the great reviews. The salmon didn't seem done enough, and while the pastry was nice and flaky on the outside it was slimy on the inside. The spinach was still raw and the pesto gave it a weird flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDYANNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I did this recipe without the spinach, and I mixed the pesto with non-fat mayo to make it less potent. It was delicious! The salmon and the puff pastry finished cooking at the same time, and the salmon was so moist and flavorful. Add sesame seeds to the top, with an egg glaze. Big hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Very, very good and simple to prepare. The dish looks quite elegant, too. I followed the recipe exactly, except for adding feta which was a nice, tangy choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
my family loved it!!! my partner and i rolled the pastry and only used pesto and the fish (we try cutting on salt and oil). in addition, i paper dried the fish, and brushed the puff pastry with whisked egg. the fish was thoroughly baked after only 20 minuutes with a golden crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Wasn't all that impressed. I took the suggestion of the other reviewers & rolled out the pastry. The salmon still seemed too thick. I'm not sure if it was from the fish or the pesto oil, but the bottom of the roll absorbed the liquid making the bottom soggy & both me & my boyfriend were majorly sick the next day after eating this. Maybe it was just too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
tasty tasty, it makes quite a bit though, and it helps A LOT to roll out the pasty dough. I tried this without rolling it and it would not stay together. Also, I added some mushrooms that I had sauteed in red wine before hand, and it went very nicely with the other flavors in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I made my own puff pastry from the puff pastry recipe on this site. Since I didn't have any onion or garlic powder, I skipped it. I didn't need it! I added about a teaspoon of cream cheese to the top and cooked it for about 35 min on 400F. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States