Puff Pastry Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Fantastic! We loved the flavor and it is really simple but looks impressive. I used fresh spinach leaves as the review of the submitter recommends. Mine did take an additional 30 minutes beyond the 25 minute baking time but the salmon was not dry at all so it was worth waiting for. Leftovers in the oven were fantastic as well. Leftovers in the microwave were wonderful in flavor and the salmon was still not dried out, but of course the pastry was too soggy for me to eat (but I ate plenty of the yummy salmon and spinach!). Thanks for another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
She's right - this was really tasty and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I make a a variation of the same recipe, I add 1 teaspoon of dill seasoning, a teaspoon of horse radish and sprinkle some asiago cheese onto the salmon before topping with spinach and closing the pie crust. The taste is excellent. And is always a hit at parties! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Pulled the pesto and added Feta instead. Truly fantastic. Freeze and eat later. Tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedeeaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Just made this dish tonight. A great flavor, easy to prepare, and an all around excellent dish. I prepared almost as stated, used fresh garlic instead of powder, omitted the onion powder, and brushed the top with a small amount of olive oil. I paired this with some couscous and the left over spinach from the bagged fresh spinach that did not fit in the puff. I minced two cloves of garlic before adding it to the canned pesto. Other reviews said the bottom was soggy, mine did not do that at all. I had a nice crisp bottom, but I did bake it about 10-15 minutes longer than the recipe called for. Even with extended baking time, it did not dry out, it still held a balanced moistness. I feel like a lot of the fishy flavor that turns most people away from salmon were not prevalent in the dish. So, if you are a little hesitant to try because of the fishy flavor, don't be. Also, I bought fresh salmon and removed the skin prior to seasoning the fish. This will certainly become a favorite fish recipe from my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is a simple, elegant dish that has become a family favourite. One thing I've added is a few tablespoons of creme fresh on top of the salmon. (Light sour cream would likely also work.) Adds a beautiful creamy texture and a bit more complexity to the taste overall. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Was delicious! Be careful not to overfill as I had to stretch the pastry to make it over the salmon. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Made without changes and it was easy and flavorful. Will do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Wow! This was WAY better than I anticipated, and we loved it! We made it exactly as the recipe said and I took the advice of another reviewer and set the pastry on a cooling rack for a bit after I took it out of the oven to prevent the bottom from going mushy. I made half the recipe (one large pastry) and it made two generous meal sized portions for my husband and I. We will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This recipe was very Yummy! I followed another readers advice an did an eggwash which made the pastry very pretty. The only thing I will change next time is maybe add some parmesan cheese. This recipe would also be good with chicken and pine nuts, pesto, and gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States