Puff Pastry Salmon Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I made these using the chicken broth as suggested and WOW! My sister in law was in town for dinner and I made this recipe for her and her family to rave reviews. Followed along exactly with no changes. The addition of the egg was incredible. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Phenominal recipe! My boyfriend said that if five-star restaurants had a fish and chips dish on the menu, this would be just the kind of thing they would make. I'm going to put out some ideas as to how I'm going to do it next time, but honestly, this recipe is great just as it's shown here. I did notice that some of the instructions were vauge-ish. It said to reduce the sauce for ten minutes or until thickened. And I wondered, at what tempurature. Because a simmer would reduce less than a boil. Also, it didn't mention how thick the sauce should be after ten minutes. I'd say go for a thinner sauce. The sauce was very strong to taste naked, but worked very well on the pastry. I would definitely use just a medium or small lemon for zesting and 2 to 3 tsp. dill, depending on how dilly you want the sauce. I used regular chicken broth, but would use low sodium next time, and also I may look for low sodium cream cheese (if that exists). The recipe is very hardy, and I'm a light to medium eater, so next time I plan to cut the salmon into eight pieces. That way there is more size choice depending on how hungry everyone is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windlecm

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Just a quick note... the low sodium beef broth is a typo. The recipe calls for low sodium chicken broth. Beef broth would just be weird :-) If anyone has accidentally made this with beef broth, I would be very curious to know how it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay Wells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Oh, man! Great recipe. Salmon was juicy, tender, just perfect. The flavors were perfect. I was looking for an asparagus recipe and stumbled across this one. There aren't many good salmon recipes, but this one goes on my list. This was a two-fer, asparagus and salmon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Not that I wanted to change the recipe but we don't really like salmon but I had some fresh asparagus and wanted to make something with the puff pastry. Used chicken tenders instead of salmon and changed the herb to rosemary and thyme vs dill. Rave reviews! I cooked the tenders and chopped them up and mixed them into the mayo, mustard, etc mixture. I also added some parmasen cheese and some shredded cheese. Still cooked it the same and made the sauce to drizzle overtop. For the sauce, I used chicken stock, rosemary, thyme and cream cheese. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
The recipe fails to mention where the asparagus is supposed to go. I assumed it goes in the bundle with the salmon and the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Tried this today wow it is awesome the creamy lemon zest sauce is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is great, easy and looks sophisticated! Perfect for guests. I've substituted sea bass and cod and both work equally as good. I double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This salmon dish is amazing!! I didn't have asparagus, so I used spinach and the taste was incredible! It looks very beautiful, too, when it's served. I highly recommend this recipe. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
amazing, my 4 year old, 1.5 year old and husband all ate it up! the egg/cream cheese mix, the sauce and the boiled veggies can all be made the night before, then all you have to do is assemble and bake when you are ready, REALLY cuts down on prep time. Also i used green beans since that was what I had on hand. Delicious, I will make this again when I have company in town, what an easy way to really impress the pants off your guests, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Salmon II

See a straightforward, 5-star recipe for making baked salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States