Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Fabulous result, with delicate puffy layers of pastry that complimented the recipe I was making perfectly!- even though it seemed daunting, after watching a you tube video for some tips (how to fold and turn, how to brush the flour off each layer with a pastry brush etc.) I did 5 or so fold and turns, my first few folds were all wrong, but it didn't seem to effect the end result which was light, flaky and delicious. I didn't change the quantities the first time and I was happy with the outcome, but I am making my second batch a week later and I have reduced the butter to 1.5 cups to see whether it works as well (for health reasons, not because I thought the full amount was too dense or buttery!). I will let you know how the reduced butter turns out. For Australia day (living in the U.S.)I wanted to make sausage rolls (ground pork and spices rolled in puff pastry and sprinkled with sesame seeds). The puff pastry available at walmart was so small and expensive I thought I would give this recipe a go. SO glad I did, the pastry was far better than the store bought, it was light and flaky and buttery. My husband enjoyed them so much he has requested I make them on a regular basis. It made approx 25 sausage rolls, using 2lbs of ground pork with a little left over pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I did follow the directions to the T but I agree there might be too much butter in this. I had trouble with it breaking thru and when baking one batch, it did lose butter. Having never worked with puff pastry or made it that might be my problem but this is one time when the store bought was better. Normally, I check many recipes when unfamiliar but I had a stellar appetizer at an open house that I wanted to recreate. Mine will be ok but I was really hoping for stellar. Will try making the pastry again after more research.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I was intimidated to try this, and doubted my ability to pull it off, so I halved the recipe. I wanted to be sure I was understanding the rolling and turning process correctly, so I watched a video on You Tube. In that video, the lady added 6 tablespoons of butter to the dough itself, and therefore used less to make the disk with. She also suggested allowing the dough to rest overnight in the fridge. I followed that, but followed the rest of this recipe as written. My kitchen was warm, so I was only able to do one turn at a time, putting the dough back in the fridge for a half hour between each turn. In the video I also learned to use a pastry brush to brush off the excess flour as you are folding it. I am not sure of the importance of this step, but thought I would pass on the tip. To my utter amazement I had absolutely no problems with this recipe at all- the dough rolled beautifully, and the butter rolled right along with it, without breaking through. It is time consuming to be sure, but I did not find it difficult. I used half of it right away to make the Praline-Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias from this site. I put it in the oven, and waited with bated breath. My heart nearly skipped a beat when I saw that my pastry did in fact puff! Total, rockin' success! Buttery, flaky, delicate perfection! Thank you "your mom" for the recipe- I love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is amazing, I was able to freeze and use a little at a time, puffed up nice and beautiful. I made some with apple filling, choc. chips and cream cheese with raspberries, will keep making. Thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Great recipe! I agree with some of the others that you could take out a few tablespoons of butter. I felt like the extra butter made the dough get soft pretty quickly when I worked with it, so I put it back in the refrigerator when I thought it was getting to hard to work with. Overall though, it was a great recipe and came together beautifully in my KitchenAid mixer. I'll definitely be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I loved this. I used it for making toaster strudels. I used 3 and a half sticks of butter rather than 4 and it was plenty butter. I think next time I will try just 3 sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Sensational! Hubby said it was the best meal I've ever cooked. I put some chicken with a cream cheese/tomato sauce in it with some spreadable cheese. Make no mistake though, it is WILDLY labor intensive and time consuming!! The sticker is he wants me to make it weekly. Whew, I'm bushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This turned out great! I have never made any kind of pastry and I was sure this puff pastry would turn out wrong, but it was perfect! Have to agree with a few other reviewers though- less butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
mine turned out tough... It was also hard to keep the butter inside...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I tried this yesterday, the hardest part I found was the rolling out, if you have bad arthritis in hands or wrist stay away from this recipe and go to your local store. The recipe does not indicate how many "sheets" it makes. So by doing some investigative work it should produce 6ish sheets. So I cut my big chunk of pastry into smaller peices and froze them. I did use small amt for testing, it is ok, but think I really prefer the store packages, it saves me alot of work and pain! I did as exactly as recipe said and changed nothing. As I was a bit skeptical about this I did a youtube search to make sure I did the turns and rolls properly. I don't mind hard work on recipes or even things that are a bit time consuming, but personally with my RA I think it is easier on me to buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puff Pastry Shells

See how to make an easy, elegant pastry shell for sweet and savory fillings.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Chef John's Butter Puff Biscuit Dough

A much faster and easier way to make puff pastry at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States