Puff Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Great recipe! I agree with some of the others that you could take out a few tablespoons of butter. I felt like the extra butter made the dough get soft pretty quickly when I worked with it, so I put it back in the refrigerator when I thought it was getting to hard to work with. Overall though, it was a great recipe and came together beautifully in my KitchenAid mixer. I'll definitely be using this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I loved this. I used it for making toaster strudels. I used 3 and a half sticks of butter rather than 4 and it was plenty butter. I think next time I will try just 3 sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Sensational! Hubby said it was the best meal I've ever cooked. I put some chicken with a cream cheese/tomato sauce in it with some spreadable cheese. Make no mistake though, it is WILDLY labor intensive and time consuming!! The sticker is he wants me to make it weekly. Whew, I'm bushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This turned out great! I have never made any kind of pastry and I was sure this puff pastry would turn out wrong, but it was perfect! Have to agree with a few other reviewers though- less butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
mine turned out tough... It was also hard to keep the butter inside...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I tried this yesterday, the hardest part I found was the rolling out, if you have bad arthritis in hands or wrist stay away from this recipe and go to your local store. The recipe does not indicate how many "sheets" it makes. So by doing some investigative work it should produce 6ish sheets. So I cut my big chunk of pastry into smaller peices and froze them. I did use small amt for testing, it is ok, but think I really prefer the store packages, it saves me alot of work and pain! I did as exactly as recipe said and changed nothing. As I was a bit skeptical about this I did a youtube search to make sure I did the turns and rolls properly. I don't mind hard work on recipes or even things that are a bit time consuming, but personally with my RA I think it is easier on me to buy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I tried thie recipe 3 times and they never puffed and were greasy rocks coming out of the oven!! I have no clue what I did wrong as I followed the instructions to a Tee...They seemed to work for everybody else. I did find another recipe that called for butter and they came out light and fluffy. The recipes were almost identical, but this one was with shortening, and the other was with butter, the others only cooked for 22 minutes and were done...But it was fun experimenting and that is why I only gave it two stars. I am not blaming the recipe, just saying it did not work for me...Lucky you, for those it did work for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gemstoneprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Its a lot of work, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tommy Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Texas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Fantastic! Better than store-bought and definately worth the work! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Was really easy to made and the result was great, I filled some "pockets" with ragú (bolognese sauce) and Bechamel sauce and were amazing, next time I'll try it with salmon and bechamel. Can't belive how puffy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aradi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Pastry Cream

This sweet, creamy custard is the classic filling for pastries, tarts, and cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States