Puff Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
My mom made these all the time when I was growing up. It's one of those recipes that is so simple you can't believe it can be sooo good but it is. These are excellent! We also roll ours in cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
absolutly wonderful and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
My mom would make these for us when we were kids, and we called them "oakey donuts". These are just fabulous! We also would use powdered sugar and do cinnamon and sugar ones too! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
This is a great recipe!! I rolled them in cinnamon sugar, very good! My husband even said they were great! Thanks Alicia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I used a donut cutter and made donuts. They were fantastic. I used cinnamon sugar instead of confectioners' sugar and with half, I dipped them in lemon juice before coating with cinnamon sugar (I wanted them to taste like my favorite beaver tails menu item) and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is something I grew up with and loved as a kid. The trick is to after frying it, dip it a cinn. sugar mix, powdered sugar twice! Also, just a point that these are great warm and fresh, but don't save any left overs. They are not good cold or reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
My older brother would make these when he got stuck babysitting me. Now my kids love them. I like to roll them in cinnamon sugar or dip them in warmed up canned frosting. Taste best when still warm. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was a camping staple when I was young. Every Sunday we would make these on our Coleman stove before packing up camp. They are delicious and simple to make. Nothing beats these when they are still hot and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Definitely a diet wrecker :) I had some biscuit dough in the fridge that I wanted to use up and this recipe was perfect. I didn't bother cutting into circles, I just cut each biscuit into fourths (like you would for monkey bread) and fried them that way. They fried very quickly for me, in one minute, and I didn't have to turn them as my deep fryer wire basket had a lid to keep them immersed in the oil. It is important not to let them get too brown, or you can taste it and they get hard. I even tried rolling the dough pieces into balls first and they do come out looking more like Timbits but they aren't as soft so I wouldn't bother trying that step (the wedges come out looking almost circular anyway). I thought I'd save time and shake the dough balls in a ziploc bag but that deposits way too much sugar, better to roll them in sugar like the recipe says! I will definitely use this recipe again when I want to give my family a treat, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
So easy! Tasted great and kid approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States