Puff Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
This is a great recipe!! I rolled them in cinnamon sugar, very good! My husband even said they were great! Thanks Alicia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I don't know how I lived 37 years without knowing I could make donuts from fridge biscuits, but I'm making up for lost time. I tried the bottle cap trick, but found that my puff balls brown more evenly if I just cut the biscuits in quarters and roll them into balls. I sprinkled these with a little lemon juice, then the powdered sugar. YUM. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Definitely a diet wrecker :) I had some biscuit dough in the fridge that I wanted to use up and this recipe was perfect. I didn't bother cutting into circles, I just cut each biscuit into fourths (like you would for monkey bread) and fried them that way. They fried very quickly for me, in one minute, and I didn't have to turn them as my deep fryer wire basket had a lid to keep them immersed in the oil. It is important not to let them get too brown, or you can taste it and they get hard. I even tried rolling the dough pieces into balls first and they do come out looking more like Timbits but they aren't as soft so I wouldn't bother trying that step (the wedges come out looking almost circular anyway). I thought I'd save time and shake the dough balls in a ziploc bag but that deposits way too much sugar, better to roll them in sugar like the recipe says! I will definitely use this recipe again when I want to give my family a treat, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I hate the taste of canned biscuits, so I picked up a bag of those wonderful frozen ones, as they taste so much fresher, and let them thaw separatly on a baking sheet. Then I cut them into 4's, deep fried them, and rolled them in granulated sugar and cinnamon. These are to die for!! It might be an extra step, but if you don't like that canned biscuit flavor, try these. And they only take a little while to thaw!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I've been doing this for years and it is fantastic! They are so simple and fun to do. I usually cut the center out of one biscuit so I end up with donuts and donut holes. The kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATES763

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Newllano, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
My mom would make these for us when we were kids, and we called them "oakey donuts". These are just fabulous! We also would use powdered sugar and do cinnamon and sugar ones too! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
YUMMY!!! A quick fix for a doughnut without the work! I coated some in powdered sugar and some in cinnamon sugar. Next time I'll try a glaze. These were soooo easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stevenelena
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Super easy, super fast. I just cut biscuits in quarters and dropped in oil. Let them cool a little and used a ziploc bag, one filled with a little powdered sugar, the other with cinnamon and sugar. Dumped some donuts in each, closed and shook. All done. I think flavor really depends on the brand of biscuits you use. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stevenelena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I had to turn the heat down, they taste good with cinnamin sugar too, granulated works. My family LOVED them, I split mine in three sections and rolled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annabella
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
These where so easy to make. I had a biscuit in the fridge and one day I was just looking on the site. I came across this recipe. It was easy and quick what I did was cut the jumbo bisuits in fours and rolled them dropped them in the oil and fried them for not even 2 min. They cooked quickly. I let them dry from the oil and rolled powder on them. I will make these again and for hubbys co-workers. Thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annabella

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States