Puff Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
A quick and easy treat to use up biscuits! I cut mine into 4 triangler pieces and dropped into oil...they cooked very fast...you cannot leave the pan or they will be too brown. I even used a generic butter type biscuit and they puffed up nicely. I immediately coated in cinnamon sugar. The family inhaled them all within 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I hate the taste of canned biscuits, so I picked up a bag of those wonderful frozen ones, as they taste so much fresher, and let them thaw separatly on a baking sheet. Then I cut them into 4's, deep fried them, and rolled them in granulated sugar and cinnamon. These are to die for!! It might be an extra step, but if you don't like that canned biscuit flavor, try these. And they only take a little while to thaw!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
My son's favorite donut is the "holes" so this is his all time favorite desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
So easy! Tasted great and kid approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Definitely a diet wrecker :) I had some biscuit dough in the fridge that I wanted to use up and this recipe was perfect. I didn't bother cutting into circles, I just cut each biscuit into fourths (like you would for monkey bread) and fried them that way. They fried very quickly for me, in one minute, and I didn't have to turn them as my deep fryer wire basket had a lid to keep them immersed in the oil. It is important not to let them get too brown, or you can taste it and they get hard. I even tried rolling the dough pieces into balls first and they do come out looking more like Timbits but they aren't as soft so I wouldn't bother trying that step (the wedges come out looking almost circular anyway). I thought I'd save time and shake the dough balls in a ziploc bag but that deposits way too much sugar, better to roll them in sugar like the recipe says! I will definitely use this recipe again when I want to give my family a treat, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was a camping staple when I was young. Every Sunday we would make these on our Coleman stove before packing up camp. They are delicious and simple to make. Nothing beats these when they are still hot and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
My older brother would make these when he got stuck babysitting me. Now my kids love them. I like to roll them in cinnamon sugar or dip them in warmed up canned frosting. Taste best when still warm. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
These were really good. I cooked them in the deep fryer and they tasted just like warm donuts. This was a really great and fast treat. I made mine with powdered sugar mixed with a little cinnamon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This is something I grew up with and loved as a kid. The trick is to after frying it, dip it a cinn. sugar mix, powdered sugar twice! Also, just a point that these are great warm and fresh, but don't save any left overs. They are not good cold or reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
These were easy to make, but the biscuits I chose were very salty and they did nothing for the sugar topping. I will make more, but this time I will choose a different biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States