Puff Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My boys and I made them with white sugar and they were great. Fast and easy. I too cut the biscuits in quarters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is just like the little donuts you get at the Chinese buffets. just roll them in regular sugar and they identical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Awesome recipe!!! Genius!!! The only thing I did was I rolled the fried biscuits in a mix of cinnamon, confectioners sugar and granulated sugar!!! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Great to satisfy a little donut craving. I heated the oil on the stovetop at a medium heat and then reduced it to low heat (just over a simmer) and got terrific results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Not the greatest, but if you just want something quick these are okay. They do not taste good the next day, so only make what you are going to eat right away. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
My husband has made these for years but being from New Orleans we call them fast beignets and eat them for breakfast. They are wonderful and have made them for many houseguests when we don't have time (or mix) to make real beignets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I don't know how I lived 37 years without knowing I could make donuts from fridge biscuits, but I'm making up for lost time. I tried the bottle cap trick, but found that my puff balls brown more evenly if I just cut the biscuits in quarters and roll them into balls. I sprinkled these with a little lemon juice, then the powdered sugar. YUM. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
So easy and so delicious!! I actually prefer powdered sugar over cinnamon and sugar ones (I made both)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I make these all the time. Instead of rolling in powdered sugar, I make a glaze with the sugar and water. Sometimes we make a cinnamon sugar mixture and we roll them in there. Great for a snack or quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
My family enjoyed these this morning! I made a variety of doughnuts. For some,I rolled dough out, fried, then frosted with either caramel or chocolate frosting. Others I cut out centers, fried, then topped with powdered sugar glaze. And topped rest with cinnamon sugar. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States