Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
ABOUT THE WATER...the reason puertoricans dip in water is because we cut them up early while making the rest of dinner. When the plaintain sits in the kitchen it will turn brown after a while,so we put them in water salt, so it so it won't oxidize. It is not necessary if you are frying soon after you cut them up. The recipe says cut in chunks, but you SLICE the plaintain in 1.5 inch slices aprox. The oil should not be TOO high, just heat the oil a little above MED for 8 min before starting so it will be ready. Cook to soften them and then "squash" them flat and fry again. Oil and water don't mix, so dry them before frying, if you insist on water. Cast iron will get nice and black if you make tostones regularly. Sprinkle salt when done and serve with ketchup, garlic oil or top with garlic shrimp... there seems to be many other suggestions. I will try to post recipe for mofongo soon...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
826 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Follow the suggestions of LatinaCook, this lady knows what she's talking about. They are delicious. Just DO NOT put them in the water(unless you want your eyebrows and kitchen to burn up)! I served them with Oxtails w/ Gravy and Jamaican style Rice and Peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I love this recipe, thanks so much for posting it. I made this side for my boyfriend, who is from Puerto Rico, for dinner; he was shocked that I did them correctly. His family serves this side or appetizer with different meals and I love eating them. But this was my first time trying my hand at cooking them. A little hint, we lightly season the tostones with Adobo after frying- Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My husband is Puerto Rican and he introduced me to these when we went to San Juan. I loved them and had to make them. I use a press that we bought in Puerto Rico, but it is just as easy to use a bottom of a glass. I also salt the water that I soak them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used to get tostones for lunch all the time when I worked in Manhattan. I missed them (and all good food) when I moved to CT. I am so excited that I can make them at home! I made a mess of the kitchen though, and I set off the fire alarm with that last step! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
As far as this recipe goes. It is a great food. I like mine with some shredded cheese of your choice (I like Mozarella) and tiny bit of butter on each Tostone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I love platano!!! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I LOVE TOSTONES!!! To peel plantains: cut ends off, then cut down one side, then peel skin off while running under water. For a little sweetness and tang, use plantains that have some dark spots. A fully ripe plantain (black) is too soft for this recipe, but experiment for different flavors (green is savory, like potato). You can either skip the water step or dry thoroughly to avoid oil splatter. Dip them in crema fresca (Mexican table cream) for an added treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
*Great recipe. Use the green plaintains as a savory side- as it is not sweet yet. Use cajun seasoning at the end for a kick. *Use the dark colored (black) plantains for a sweet dessert or balance to your meal. Sprinkle w/ just a little cinnamon, dark sugar, and nutmeg. *For both green or dark plantains, try the thousand island recipe, or buy store bought. *After frying, flatten between wax paper w/ a roller. I do not dip in cold water because I will set my house on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels and JJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I'm a gringo but cook like a good Latino! For a richer taste (less oily) use equal parts butter and oil. Also sprinkle with a little sugar at the end. Makes 'em so good they'll all be gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States