Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Plantains are not bananas, they are related but have a much higher starch content. They should always be cooked as they don't taste good raw, green or ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I just wanted to point out to those having difficulty with this recipe is that a toston is never to be made with a ripe plantain....the texture will be completely different at that point you simply slice and fry them and they are what we call maduros....always use a firm GREEN plantain and you will end up with a crispy treat with the endulgance of a fry....also follow the recipe to the T yes you can soak them before you first fry them so they do not blacken, however it will ensure a crispier toston if you dip in salted water right before the second fry...hope this helps! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Good stuff! Definitely let your plantains ripen fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Yummy - Hard to mess these up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
well.....I totally don't know how to rate this. I want to 1st say, I've never in my life eaten plantains. So I really didn't know what to actually expect even having people give me an idea. One thing I waited until my plantains were nearly black skinned to be sweet. I followed the recipe but I used 2 plantains but left the amount of the oil and water the same. Another AR'er looked at the recipe and said she was worried about the "dipping in the water" then frying in oil. So I vowed I would do a few to try that way...and glad I did. They splatter so hard, so high, I was reaching for the splatter guard and said..nope. I'm not dipping anymore because it was crazy to do anymore that way. I salted the 1st few that came out and I have to say....didn't like that. And it really was just a dash of salt. Not like salting french fries. At that point I couldn't get past the salt taste. That's just me. Hubby tasted 2 & was like "weird & interesting" So I didn't salt anymore after that. I let 2 of my kids try that were around & they both spit it out. They didn't like them at all. While they did have a sweet taste to them. That part was interesting. I ate a few, trying to keep an open mind, but all in all. I'm now worried about wasting 4 more plantains that are ripening, because no one else will eat them in my house after this. Interesting I'll give that. But can't say that I'd go all out & make again. People who like them, will like this recipe. I just guess I'm not one of them. SO sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
great they taste just like Mama would make them when we ran around the mountain in San Juan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
My husband is puerto rican so we make these a lot. It actually took me a few tries to get the hang of cooking them by myself b/c growing up my mom only taught me how to make the fried plantain chips for eating like popcorn. These, on the other hand are great as part of a meal. Especially with rice and beans. Our sauce is just equal parts ketchup and mayo- so it looks pink. DH also likes to soak them in water and adobo after cutting to flavor them. I like this method of flavoring. I think it makes a big difference than just sprinkling on dry adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This recipe is not exclusively Puerto Rican. I am Jamaican and we make the same thing. I never put water on the plantains and it is important that you do not cut them too thick when you fry them the first time. Pick pretty, green plantains. This dish is meant to be eaten with something flavorful like fish with onions, so don't be shocked at its lack of flavor. In Jamaica we eat it with herring, mackerel or codfish. This dish is served in many island countries, as well as Latin American countries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Yum. So simple yet sooooooooo good! Best fried plantain I've had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Not so good. Perhaps it's just me and the fact that it's my first time making these. I'm not sure I can believe the nutritional analysis either. But when flattened they turned into messy dry starchy things and they didn't pick up the rest of the oil well- they were just a pile of mush. They looked and smelled good up until then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States