Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
ABOUT THE WATER...the reason puertoricans dip in water is because we cut them up early while making the rest of dinner. When the plaintain sits in the kitchen it will turn brown after a while,so we put them in water salt, so it so it won't oxidize. It is not necessary if you are frying soon after you cut them up. The recipe says cut in chunks, but you SLICE the plaintain in 1.5 inch slices aprox. The oil should not be TOO high, just heat the oil a little above MED for 8 min before starting so it will be ready. Cook to soften them and then "squash" them flat and fry again. Oil and water don't mix, so dry them before frying, if you insist on water. Cast iron will get nice and black if you make tostones regularly. Sprinkle salt when done and serve with ketchup, garlic oil or top with garlic shrimp... there seems to be many other suggestions. I will try to post recipe for mofongo soon...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
797 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Also known as Platanos Fritos o Patacones. I make these all the time but i do not soak them in water. I just peel the plantain, slice it crosswise about 1 inch thick, fry just a little (they'll look yellow-er), press in the tostonera (or with the bottom of a can) , fry again until cripsy and golden and then sprinkle with garlic salt. Yum!! Ignore the rating of the person who burnt them, that is not the recipe's fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2000
I have made these all my life and I love them. A nice twist (and probably my favorite) is to make them with a ripe plantain (in which case they're called "amarillos". For making amarillos, the plantain must be at least yellow or almost throwing to "too ripe"--close to blackening skin). Cut the ripe plantain into diagonal, long slices and fry them--keep an eye on them because they cook much, much faster--turn around and they'll be burnt!--and drain on paper towels. You can serve these with anything and are great solo. Because they're made with a ripe plantain, they're very sweet. My fiance doesn't really care for amarillos, but I wouldn't have my plantains any other way. I would give both of these a 3 kid rating because, depending on the kid, he or she will love the tostones/amarillos or just hate them. I grew up with them, so I simply adore them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
As a Puerto Rican, I know and love platanos as well. They're an easy side dish and can take the place of other sides, like rice or potatos. I don't bother with the water, just fry, smash, and re-fry. Just make sure you use the green plantains for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Tostones taste great any time. Ask for Plantains at the supermarket in my experience they are qualitatively different than bananas, dont exactly taste great raw. they are longer, firmer, like a cousin of the banana, cooked while green for a firm crunchy taste, or when yellow with brown spots for a sweet taste. Make a tomato and garlic sauce for dipping, sprinkle with salt.. delicious! In some hardware stores you can find a tostonera, look in latino catalogs for it, it saves lots of time. its two boards with a circular indentation in the middle, made to squish the plantain in a perfect circle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
*Great recipe. Use the green plaintains as a savory side- as it is not sweet yet. Use cajun seasoning at the end for a kick. *Use the dark colored (black) plantains for a sweet dessert or balance to your meal. Sprinkle w/ just a little cinnamon, dark sugar, and nutmeg. *For both green or dark plantains, try the thousand island recipe, or buy store bought. *After frying, flatten between wax paper w/ a roller. I do not dip in cold water because I will set my house on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels and JJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I love PR cuisine! I have learned alot from a neighbor of mine and when we have these we make it with what she calls a secret sauce. The sauce is about 3 cloves crushed garlic,mayo and ketchup. Add to your taste along with a lil salt and pepper soooo good with the tostones!! Serve along side any dish or by their self awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I LOVE TOSTONES!!! To peel plantains: cut ends off, then cut down one side, then peel skin off while running under water. For a little sweetness and tang, use plantains that have some dark spots. A fully ripe plantain (black) is too soft for this recipe, but experiment for different flavors (green is savory, like potato). You can either skip the water step or dry thoroughly to avoid oil splatter. Dip them in crema fresca (Mexican table cream) for an added treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
OH MY GOD! THESE ARE EXACTLY LIKE THEY ARE IN THE DOMINICAN REPUBLIC. I LOVED THESE WHEN I LIVED THERE. IN THE DOMINICAN, THEY ARE MORE COMMONLY CALLED "PLATINO FRITOS"...MAKES SENSE, BUT I COULDNT FIND INSTRUCTIONS TO MAKE THESE, BECAUSE I DIDN'T KNOW, UNTIL RECENTLY THAT THESE ARE ACTUALLY CALLED TOSTONES. WHATEVER THE NAME....THEY ARE SOOOOO GOOD. THESE ARE GREAT FOR DINNER. I MAKE ONE TOSTONE PER PERSON, ACCOMPONIED BY FRIED SALOMI, WHICH IS ANOTHER DOMINICAN FAVORITE. CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHAT "CHINOLA" IS IN ENGLISH....POR QUE, SOY AMERICANA. LOL. I LOVE THIS JUGO (JUICE) IN THE DOMINICAN, BUT I CAN'T FIND THE "CHINOLA" FRUIT HERE. THANKS EVER SO MUCH FOR THESE INSTRUCTIONS. I AM IN HEAVEN NOW THAT I CAN HAVE MY PLATINO FRITOS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Just a few observations: 1. If you want to have a toston that is made like those in Puerto Rico you have to have green plantains (oh, and a plantain is not a banana. They are related, but are not the same. A plantain is much larger and thicker than a banana, even the plants are different). 2. The slices should be cut diagonally so the initial frying can cover the most area. 3. If you don't have a tostonera, a can or a plate can be used to squash the slice, 4. Once it is squashed it is put in salted water for at least 30 minutes, not just to prevent it from going brown, but to give the toston a very good salty taste. 5. Last you fry it until golden brown. 6. Some people make mayoketchup mix (mayonnaise mixed with ketchup) or olive oil with salt, lemon, and garlic or just sprinkle with garlic salt. Hope this has clarified some issues with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States