Puerto Rican Tostones (Fried Plantains) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
*Great recipe. Use the green plaintains as a savory side- as it is not sweet yet. Use cajun seasoning at the end for a kick. *Use the dark colored (black) plantains for a sweet dessert or balance to your meal. Sprinkle w/ just a little cinnamon, dark sugar, and nutmeg. *For both green or dark plantains, try the thousand island recipe, or buy store bought. *After frying, flatten between wax paper w/ a roller. I do not dip in cold water because I will set my house on fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels and JJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I'm a gringo but cook like a good Latino! For a richer taste (less oily) use equal parts butter and oil. Also sprinkle with a little sugar at the end. Makes 'em so good they'll all be gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
It seems good, it's very simple, and it tasted great. I always add a garlic "sauce" to it. It's mashed up garlic with some salt, pepper, and oregano, or "Adobo", with some olive oil, If you use a garlic press, and let it sit in the olive oil for a while, it is the perfect sauce to go with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Adorno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caguas, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I love tostones! I generally don't bother with a dip, just some hot sauce. Don't do the water step, too dangerous. To ALEXISCRUZ, chinola is passion fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
It was good but not something I would do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Delicious! I flattened them using the bottom of a coffee mug and refried them *without* dipping in water (too much oil splattered as a result...Ouch!). They were just as crispy as the water dipped plantains. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This is a great recipe for tostones. When I do the water dip before the second fry I use salt water instead of plain. It give the tostones a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
these were nice (served them as appetizers) especially with the dipping mayo/ketchup/garlic dipping sauce suggested by others. i tried the cold water step with one piece and my skillet went bananas (haha)! skip this step altogether. i couldn't tell the difference between the one i dipped in water and ones i didn't. will definitely make these again - great party food, i reckon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I love PR cuisine! I have learned alot from a neighbor of mine and when we have these we make it with what she calls a secret sauce. The sauce is about 3 cloves crushed garlic,mayo and ketchup. Add to your taste along with a lil salt and pepper soooo good with the tostones!! Serve along side any dish or by their self awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
These tostones were so good!! The step about dipping in water is good to do because it makes them more crispier. I only bought one plantain at the store. Now I need to go buy more!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States